We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sea View Inn to your Saves list
Sea View Inn
El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a wonderful place with the most accommodating staff and cute rooms (cute because they are small but very well appointed).

We stayed in Sept 2013 and I cannot say enough good things about the place. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms on the 3rd floor but it had a bathroom. I would have no problem saying in that room again although I would bring smaller luggage with me since the stairs are narrow.

The evening wine and cheese tasting is a nice touch for sure. I also loved having a cigar on the porch and enjoying the ocean air and extreme darkness at night...I couldn't believe how dark it got.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
147
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for a stopover during our road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We got the cheapest room (room 1) with shared bathroom. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained. Bedroom was small and cosy. The hotel is quaint and quiet. It's less than 5mins drive from highway 1 exit, carmel town central and the beach. The staff are also helpful and gave gd recommendations for dinner (i.e. Dametra cafe which serve Spanish food). Do made reservations if you are heading down to Dametra as it was full when we went down on a Monday evening.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We wished our stay was longer. Loved the safe environment to walk around and explore. Great beach access - no sea view from our room but it was certainly relaxing! Loved the evening small bites and wine. Breakfast was good - can't really remember what I ate - hors d'oeuvres were more memorable.

Room Tip: The stairs really are steep if you can't do heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful room with stoning bathroom. Extremely nice and service minded personnel that do their outmost to assure that you feel well taken care off. In the evenings complementary wine is served accompanied with snacks in the main lounge with the fireplace lit or if you prefer on the porch. Every morning, breakfast is served with a wide variety to choose from, especially for being a B&B.

The houses in the quarters that Sea View Inn is located within (central area of Carmel) have no house numbers; however it is easy to find your way. The location is central, with only a few blocks from the sea and 10 minutes’ walk from all shops and restaurants. The staff at the Sea View Inn gave several good suggestions regarding where to go for dinner and also helped with reservations. Can defiantly recommend to eat at the Flying Fish (don’t forget to make a reservation).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

What a treat it was to arrive at Sea View Inn. A smiling welcome and a glass of wine was a great way to start our two night stay. Our room was on the 3rd floor with an ensuite and a glimpse of the sea. No lift, which meant carrying our bags up to our room but this wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions for Carmel, plus local walks. Breakfast was amazing with a different selection both days. The Inn is warm, cosy and relaxing. I have stayed in many B & B's and would recommend this as one of the best I have experienced.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent a very comfortable couple of nights at the Sea View Inn. It is high quality for a B&B by UK standards, not sure how it compares by US standards as it's our first B&B experience. If it is typical, then it won't be the last. Very comfy room, quirky decor. Excellent breakfast, and the complimentary wine and nibbles in the evening was most welcome. A very pleasant stay

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stay 3 nights over this Memorial weekend at this lovely inn in Carmel, CA.

It's located conveniently close to the town and beach -- we never need to move our car for dinner in town or a beautiful morning walk on the beach.

We stayed at Rm #1 with a large shared bathroom. The bathroom has been just updated with a clean & modern design that we loved. Our room was small but, we appreciated the sink in the room. We were lucky to be able to book on one of the busiest weekend at relatively the last min so, no complain!

A great sitting area by the entrance that functioned as a dining room in the morning. Breakfast was wonderful with many choices. We also loved a glass of wine served in the evening before we hit the dinner.

It was a bit chilly to sit outside but, this inn has a quint and well-kept backyard that provides guests with many seatings. All staff were very professional and seem to be proud to be a part of this lovely inn.

We will definitely come back to this cozy B&B.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.