We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, hospitality and close to ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Inn to your Saves list
Sea View Inn
Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lanzarote, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charm, hospitality and close to ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a charming place not to be missed and also an outstanding value considering that Carmel is expensive. We stayed in rooms 4 and 5 on the upper level with narrow but very manageable steps going up. The rooms were small but delightful and a bit of an ocean view. The bathrooms were very nice! The hospitality and ambiance is excellent and there is real value for your money when you consider the wine and cheese in late afternoon (delightfully presented) and a graciously presented breakfast in the morning. The public spaces are great and complete with Fireplace. The ocean is less than a five minute walk.. it couldn't be much better.

Room Tip: We liked rooms 4 and 5, but if narrow and steep steps bother you then maybe opt for another room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    46
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
162
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love Carmel and come every year to see in the New Year. Our favorite place to stay is the Sea View Inn. Carmel can be busy that time of year, but the Sea View is our little retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Avenue. It is a bit of a walk to town, but that's what we like about it. Take a flashlight if you are walking at night, as the street is dark and there is no sidewalk. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We prefer room 6 because it has such a nice bathroom, but all the rooms are delightful. The beds are super-comfortable, with high quality linens and wonderful pillows. We always take advantage of the living room with the fireplace - such a cozy place to sit and read. Wine and hors d'oeuvres are served every afternoon at 5:00 p.m. and it is a great way to meet the other guests. Breakfast is served at 8:30 a.m. and although it is not a hot breakfast, the food is beautifully prepared and very, very fresh. There is an assortment of cereals, along with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and several kinds of pastries. We did not go hungry! In addition to all of this, there is Traci. She is amazing. She is the quintessential inn keeper - warm and friendly, but not intrusive. She makes you feel like family in all the good ways. We will keep coming back to the Sea View Inn, every New Year's, for as long as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Sea View Inn is amazing. We did a road trip from San Francisco- Los Angeles in September 2012 and Carmel (and the Sea View Inn) were the highlight of the trip.

The owners are so welcoming and showed us up to our room. Delightful, clean and cosy room.
The lounge with the fireplace was lovely too, and I especially enjoyed the afternoon tea and reading magazines by the fireplace in the afternoon.

Carmel is so peaceful, I would definitely recommend staying at the Sea View Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed with friends from St. Louis for two nights in October. From the minute you arrive Tracy makes feel so special and nothing is too much trouble for her. We are from Ireland and wanted to watch the sunset from the beach. Tracy gave us to go cups with wine and cheese and the four of us watched the sunset sipping wine- what a great start to a fantastic trip. The rooms are very well appointed and we shared a bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff were great. When we came back from dinner on the first night tracy had the Irish Flag flying for us- now that is what great service is all about, and Tracy certainly knows how to take care of her guests. I would highly reccommend staying at the Sea View Inn you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are cosy if you do not mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great time. Very well prepared "cold" breakfast. (Some complain because they want a "hot" breakfast but we found it to be well thought out selection). It was very high quality, fresh and tasty. We were in room 5 on the third floor! A one suitcase at a time climb from second to 3rd...but the room and en suite bath were very quaint, comfortable and clean. Despite, or because, it was in the eves the room had a character of its own. The shower was quite adequate but the most efficient use of space we have seen in a while. But considering the location and age of the property it was a very interesting place to stay. A quick walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping district.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb steps or have a balance issue you do not want a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a feast for the senses to stay at this very special place in Carmel. Very traditional and the hospitality from the team was so appreciated. Cheese and wine in the evenings, breakfast cooked in the morning for you and meeting interesting people from all over. The beach is a block way and the peace and quiet is special. It's the sort of place you could stay weeks at and write a book.
We came from Australia and were travelling as a couple with a 13 year old son. Our room was cosy and our son had a separate little section in a bay window he slept in.
Bathroom was spotless and comfortable.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

You can't actually view the sea but it's a five minute walk away. The main shopping area and Mission Ranch are a 15min walk on opposite sides of the inn. This is a bit of a challenge after sunset as streets are unlit but that makes the stars more beautiful.
We prefer this intimate atmosphere with shared breakfast tables to the impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.