We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The welcome is everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn

Save Saved
You added Sea View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea View Inn
El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The welcome is everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed with friends from St. Louis for two nights in October. From the minute you arrive Tracy makes feel so special and nothing is too much trouble for her. We are from Ireland and wanted to watch the sunset from the beach. Tracy gave us to go cups with wine and cheese and the four of us watched the sunset sipping wine- what a great start to a fantastic trip. The rooms are very well appointed and we shared a bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff were great. When we came back from dinner on the first night tracy had the Irish Flag flying for us- now that is what great service is all about, and Tracy certainly knows how to take care of her guests. I would highly reccommend staying at the Sea View Inn you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are cosy if you do not mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
140
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A great time. Very well prepared "cold" breakfast. (Some complain because they want a "hot" breakfast but we found it to be well thought out selection). It was very high quality, fresh and tasty. We were in room 5 on the third floor! A one suitcase at a time climb from second to 3rd...but the room and en suite bath were very quaint, comfortable and clean. Despite, or because, it was in the eves the room had a character of its own. The shower was quite adequate but the most efficient use of space we have seen in a while. But considering the location and age of the property it was a very interesting place to stay. A quick walk to the beach and a short walk to the main shopping district.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb steps or have a balance issue you do not want a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a feast for the senses to stay at this very special place in Carmel. Very traditional and the hospitality from the team was so appreciated. Cheese and wine in the evenings, breakfast cooked in the morning for you and meeting interesting people from all over. The beach is a block way and the peace and quiet is special. It's the sort of place you could stay weeks at and write a book.
We came from Australia and were travelling as a couple with a 13 year old son. Our room was cosy and our son had a separate little section in a bay window he slept in.
Bathroom was spotless and comfortable.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

You can't actually view the sea but it's a five minute walk away. The main shopping area and Mission Ranch are a 15min walk on opposite sides of the inn. This is a bit of a challenge after sunset as streets are unlit but that makes the stars more beautiful.
We prefer this intimate atmosphere with shared breakfast tables to the impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This review is late, I know, but we were going through our pictures and I was reminded of what a great experience this B&B was. And I didn't even get to have breakfast, due to a super early departure.
What you need to know:
Worth it. Especially the room with attached bathroom. Love the no t.v in the room,rule, along with heated bathroom floors and nook to curl up and read
Hospitable: Tracy was amazing. And I can say that- my credit card was compromised and she didn't bat a lash. We were on route to Vegas, she took cash and called me to make sure we were all sorted out after we left- which was completely unnecessary as e had paid our due. Best phone call I have ever received in Fresno.
Clean: No worries. I am A-type and I couldn't find a speck of anything.
Comfort: beds - super comfy. Quiet. Free wine and cheese- do you need more? I am sure the breakfast would have blown my mind if I actually had the time to try it.

All the romance, excitement and mystique of Carmel is right here. Can't imagine staying anywhere else. Book it...promise- it is beyond what you think. And the short walk down to the beach or into charming downtown, is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights, and Margo and the staff couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a brand new, well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was included and served in the inn's lovely common rooms. The coffee was fantastic. If I every come back to Carmel, the Sea View Inn is my go-to place to stay.

Thank you, Margo.
From, Ann and Lily in Newburyport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In a town of very quaint cute properties sea view inn fits right in...the property is very pretty both inside and out. Both the owner Tracy and all her staff are friendly welcoming and full of useful info..they cannot do enough for you. Our room no5 was right at the top of the house..it was very small but beautifully finished with a lovely en suite shower room. THe breakfasts are excellent and there is also complimentary daily cheese fruit and wine and plenty of sweets and chocolates around.

The inn is 10 mins walk from the main part of town, and Tracy supplies a torch for you to walk back as Carmel has no street lights, and 2 mins walk from the beach..but don't let the name fool you there is no proper sea view from the inn ..

It's not cheap at c $200 a night but Carmel is not a cheap town and well worth a visit

Room Tip: A room on 1st floor may be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.