We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I proposed and she said yes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I proposed and she said yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I booked a weekend for the Carmel Country Inn to propose to my girlfriend. When I booked the room I was unsure of the specifics except that I wanted us to be in Carmel-by-the-sea. When I called I ask Amy the inn-keeper and she recommended I call Brian at Romantic Room Designs. Brian recommended a bonfire on the beach at sunset and I thought that'd be a great idea for the proposal. Not only that but they could take pictures too to capture the moment. Once we finally made our way over to the bonfire, I was blown away. It was perfectly romantic, my now fiancee was very impressed, and the little touches like a message in the bottle in the sand were fantastic. We couldn't be happier with our experience and can't wait to share the photos with everyone. I highly recommend the Carmel Country Inn and Romantic Room Designs to make that special, romantic weekend very memorable!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    79
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
71
228
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
danville, ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Our hosts were very friendly - helpful with restaurant recommendations, rooms were very spacious, clean, grounds immaculately kept. The breakfast was very nice, many choices. We had a great time, brought our dog and will return many times. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The Carmel Country Inn was the ideal hotel in which to spend our last 3 nights in California. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were excellent and the breakfast extensive.
The setting of the hotel, on the outskirts of Carmel shopping centre, made it accessible during both the day and the night - but don't forget the torch at night as there is no street lighting.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We and our dog Josie were welcomed to a very clean and pet-loving Carmel Country Inn. The room was small but well appointed. The bathtub, shower and tile floor were all updated and sparkling clean. The king bed was great, they accommodated us with non-down pillows, and breakfast in the morning was healthy and plentiful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This was our second visit and last time we stayed in a two bedroom one bath suite this time we stayed upstairs in a two bedroom and two bath suite and with our kids it was much more space and more quiet upstairs also. We brought our two dogs and we are always treated the best.I love this place and would recommend to anyone traveling with dogs to Carmel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We used to love getting away for the weekend in the Bay Area but seldom do it now that we have a dog. When we saw an article that said the Inn welcomes dogs, we thought we'd try it out and also try out Carmel Beach since we heard it was a great dog beach. We were upgraded to a two bedroom/two bathroom and found the rooms beautiful and spacious. Amazing bathtub with perfect hot water. Rooms were roomy enough that we could relax without too much togetherness. We loved the nearby beach and very near deli. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. The sherry is a wonderful touch. We enjoyed the outdoor patio area. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We had the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar grove nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

we spent 2 nights for our 20th anniversary. loved everything about the place, people and pets. our only regret was not bringing our dogs (big dogs so they would have had to fly with luggage). it was romantic and friendly, the two cats there were wonderful as well and really made us feel at home. the tub was amazing and it was a great proximity to town, quiet and perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.