We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location for our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #4 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect location for our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This turned out to be the perfect place for our honeymoon.
We were greeted with a friendly smile, and made very welcome. The room was quaint and romantic, with a fireplace, french doors to a small balcony, and a spa tub for two. The bed was so comfy!
The location is just a few blocks to all the great restaurants in the area. The office had a copy of each restaurants menu, making our choice of where to eat so much easier.
Our first evening was highlighted by a stroll on the beautiful sandy beach watching the amazing sunset.
We were told there was a complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby each morning. I certainly wasn't expecting the spread that greeted me. Loads of choices for breakfast including some hot foods. All day complimentary coffee was a hit with me, as was the free internet for my wife.
We loved the Carmel Country Inn and are already planning our return anniversery.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    80
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
231
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here for a week over the end of June and first part of July in a deluxe king suite. The suite was perfect for the long stay, with a comfortable bed, spacious living area with fireplace, and well-appointed bath. If you're a light sleeper and like to leave the window open at night you might be disturbed by later-arriving guests on the outside stairs, though it didn't prove to be a problem for us. We were made to feel at home by the warm and welcoming staff, who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

We both loved the expanded continental breakfast, especially the oatmeal, yogurt, and abundant bowl of mixed berries. Coffee and snacks were available throughout the day. I loved sitting on the patio with a mug of coffee and a Danish, with Max the cat at my feet after a long walk along the sea, and my wife enjoyed a bit of sherry beside the fire at night.

The inn's just a short walk to restaurants and shops, but far enough off Ocean to be blissfully quiet and free from the day-tripping crowd. Lots of guests bring their dogs, which we love, but someone who doesn't like pets might want to stay elsewhere.

It's hard to imagine a better choice if you're seeking a quiet, convenient and comfortable place with warm, unobtrusive hospitality. It'll be our home away from home whenever we're in Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

If I ever need to go to the peninsula area on that "other" coast, I need not think about staying anywhere other than The Camel Country Inn in Carmel By The Sea California.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Carmel Country Inn exceeded our expectations, it is hidden in a residential area and this was our first time traveling with our one year old boxer, who loved the walk to the dog friendly beach and the rooms were just what we needed. Ater staying in scotts valley in a small room at a major hotel this was a most welcomed stay for the whole family and our dog too. We can't wait to visit carmel by the sea again and will be staying at the carmel country inn every time. thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend away. We checked in late Friday afternoon and we were offered lemonade and freshly baked cookies! Rachel showed us our room. Very spacious with a sitting room that included a fireplace and a comfortable bed and even a bottle of port, compliments of the inn. Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 am ...a delicious spread ..fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, toast, pastries, orange juice, great coffee,etc. We were greeted by Mara at the front desk and Patty who puts the weekend meals together. Everybody was extremely friendly! We looked forward to our Sunday breakfast with our new friends. We certainly plan to return to the Carmel Country Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Carmel is a lovely spot on earth, and Carmel Country Inn completes the experience. A great spot for a stroll to the town or beach, a run or a walk/drive for dinner at Mission Ranch. The start of the 17 mile drive is only a few minutes away. The Inn itself is cost, well equipped and extremely welcoming. When you find something that both adults, kids and teenagers appreciate then you're onto a winner! We will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed in one of the two bedroom suites which was the perfect accomodation given we were traveling with our parents. The Innkeepers were exceptionally accomodating and friendly. We didn't give advance notice about dietary restrictions yet when I requested non-dairy/soy milk for the next day the Inn Keeper went out unexpectedly and returned with a container that morning while we were having breakfast. Talk about service! Everyone was friendly and the breakfast choices were great. We traveled with our elderly parents who have traveled to Carmel mainy times, stayed at more expensive inns yet were impressed and pleased. Great service, great people, great place to stay. We will be returning with our pooch the next time. The only reason for the 4 with location and room was because with our 94 y.o. father it was hard for him to climb upstairs but they gave us the room closest to the stairs to try and accomodate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.