We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #4 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Foothill Ranch, California
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their two bedroom suite. Spacious! Great for two couples to travel together or just two friends escaping for the weekend. The staff was really nice. The suite is spacious. It's two bedrooms are separated by a nice living/sitting room (equipped with a TV, fireplace, couch, chair, rocking chair, wide wooden coffee table and an end table. Each family or friend has their own bathroom (one has a very large cast iron tub). There is a bar region with wine glasses, coffee maker and refrigerator. It May and it was comfortable to sleep with the windows open a couple inches. The Inn is located within walking distance of downtown. It is very clean and the bath towels are large. The next time I'm in town, I hope I'll be able to reserve here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Michelle for your kind comments about our inn. The Two Bedroom suites are very popular, as they are perfect for 2 couples, families, girlfriends getaways or mancations. Not many inns in Carmel-by-the-Sea have the suite options, especially with two separate bedrooms. We are so glad everyone enjoyed their stay and we look foward to having all of you back again with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    85
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
81
251
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The staff are exceptional - informative and friendly. Small grounds but at least a patch of grass for the dog. Did not experience noise but no one was in the room above. Close to dining, shopping and galleries. Short walk to the beach. Cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, cereals and pastries for breakfast. But I have to agree with another reviewer that said they were disappointed in the room. (And because it's a BnB I would guess all the rooms are different.) It didn't come off like a comfy cottage but more of a grandmas house. It just feels old - except for the bathroom which had been updated. Some things seem petty but when added up contribute to the overall impression. Carpet is dingy and old. The baseboards have been removed which makes it feel unfinished. Some of the walls are dirty and the inside bottom of the front door is blackened and rotting. The shower head is frustratingly wide and needle-like. The second bedroom was more like a closet that had a bed in it. I'm not sure about the price attached to this stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Our main concern here at Carmel “Country” Inn is always that our guest rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained for all guests, no matter what their individual décor preferences are. We are a “Country” Inn and our décor reflects such. Our website clearly shows no less than 3 photos of each room type and they are current photos and we also welcome you to tour any available guest rooms upon arrival. What is to some people an old relative’s style, others find comfortable and warming, A.K.A, Country. You won’t find any leather, chrome, glass or Ikea products in our guest rooms. You will find pine furniture, soft blues, greens and neutral tones. We are fortunate to have award winning master builder Chris Tescher as the inn’s owner. Chris spares no expense at upgrading the fixtures and furnishings at the inn, using the same high quality products that he put in his custom homes, those of which have low ceilings, also do not have base boards as a common design practice. Carpeting has been replaced in all guest rooms over the past 6-8 months. So that we can continue successfully welcome our very important pet guests, we carefully select the grade and natural taupe color of durable commercial carpeting which is low pile and dark in color. The rooms are decorated with products from local furnishing stores like Mums’ Place, Casa de Campania and Carmel Bay Company. We also use Pottery Barn, Grandinrod & Ballard Designs items to furnish rooms. Our ever popular Two Bedroom Suites feature a sitting room and two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed measuring 16’x 14’and the second bedroom measuring 12’x10’, could in some cases be the size of a closet in a Penthouse Suite but that is not our intention here. We have opted to provide king and queen beds, rather than standard size double beds or twin beds, as you will still find in some inns in Carmel and probably in your grandma’s house too. The pricing structure of our two bedrooms suites are indeed more expensive than a basic motel room with 2 beds and a shower, if you won’t enjoy this sort of accommodation, then there are over 40 other inns, 20 of which are pet friendly, all in one square mile of what is our enchanting Carmel-by-the-Sea village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good walk-to-town location. Very comfortable rooms and nice people. Good choice for Carmel.
Our room had recently upgraded bathroom, sitting room with fireplace, and comfortable bed. Service and breakfast were very well done.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Jim for taking the time to write about our inn and your stay. We certainly enjoyed having you and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon! Those comfortable beds are speak of are from Monterey Mattress Company, locally owned and operated. They are the same product line that Pebble Beach Resorts and Clint Eastwood's exclusive Tehama Ranch use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a return visit for us, having visited the Carmel Country Inn about 5 years ago. This property is a best kept secret. Excellent accommodation, great breakfast, wonderful staff and so centrally located. We loved our stay in Carmel and would highly recommend this wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom, two bathroom suite (room 6) and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Cathy, thank you so much for writing this great review for us. We always like to see friendly, familiar faces like yours and we so much enjoyed getting to know your friends who were traveling with you too. We look forward to having all of you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Decided to splurge on a few nights at this Inn. Having stayed in Carmel several times at other places, we were excited to try out this highly rated place. The location is lovely - a few blocks off the main drag but a very easy and charming walk. The grounds are lovely and the staff was welcoming and friendly. Extra points for being so amazingly welcoming to dogs. The room however was disappointing. The carpet was dingy, the plumbing old, more like an old Aunt's guest room than a $250/night inn. While Carmel is generally expensive and rooms are never new and fancy, I cringed when I paid the bill. Too much money for too little inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Our main concern here at Carmel “Country” Inn is always that our guest rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained for all guests, no matter what their individual décor preferences are. We are a “Country” Inn and our décor reflects such. Our website clearly shows no less than 3 photos of each room type and they are current photos and we also welcome you to tour any available guest rooms upon arrival. What is to some people an old relative’s style, others find comfortable and warming, A.K.A, Country. You won’t find any leather, chrome, glass or Ikea products in our guest rooms. You will find pine furniture, soft blues, greens and neutral tones. We are fortunate to have award winning master builder Chris Tescher as the inn’s owner. Chris spares no expense at upgrading the fixtures and furnishings at the inn, using the same high quality products that he put in his custom homes, including the luxury baths with whirlpool tubs, pine cabinetry and travertine tile, all of which has been remodeled in the last 5 years and new plumbing installed during the process. In the case of a plumbing issue, the plumbers are on call to solve the issue, as long as we are told about it prior to reading about it on tripadvisor. Carpeting has been replaced in all guest rooms over the past 6-8 months. So that we can continue successfully welcome our very important pet guests, we carefully select the grade and natural taupe color of durable commercial carpeting which is low pile and dark in color. The rooms are decorated with products from local furnishing stores like Mums’ Place, Casa de Campania and Carmel Bay Company. We also use Pottery Barn, Grandinrod & Ballard Designs items to furnish rooms, if you won’t enjoy this sort of accommodation, then there are over 40 other inns, all in one square mile of what is our enchanting Carmel-by-the-Sea village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had stayed at this hotel a couple of times before prior to having children. So for our 10 year anniversary we decided to revisit the inn for a two night getaway. The room we had stayed at before was not available so we picked the queen studio. Big mistake! The room was situated in the front, facing west and next to the street. We couldn't sleep because the room held so much heat. Then at 7 in the morning we were greeted by traffic noise right outside our window. Now the hotel did mention that this was not their most private room since it is also next to the Lobby and breakfast area. I had no idea you would be able to hear all the footsteps and noise bleeding in. We essentially got no sleep that night. I called first thing in the morning letting them know that I was unhappy with the room and asked if there was anything they could do, considering this was not cheap at $250/night. They presented us with an option of paying $50 more for a room upstairs but it would still be hot since no rooms here have AC. We opted to check out a day earlier because there was no way we can stay one more night in the queen studio room. We ended up finding a room at another hotel two blocks away that was $100 cheaper. I'm sorry that our repeated romantic getaway ended up less than ideal. This queen studio room was not cheap and we were made to feel as if it was our mistake to pick this room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Our website and booking engine, which was utilized to reserve this room, clearly describes the location and the noise factor associated with this room, our petite, least expensive Queen Studio. Our detailed confirmation letter also has the exact same description of the room as well as the pre arrival letter is also emailed prior to arrival. We have only one of these standard Queen Studio rooms, so the other alternatives were Deluxe King Suites which are indeed only $50 more per night and the ones available happened to be on the second floor, we have some located on the ground floor but were occupied, so we alerted the guests that those rooms would be warm since it had been in the mid 70's the day prior and the forecast was for the same this particular day. we do have fans in each guest room and there are no lodging properties in Carmel by the Sea who have air conditioning, not even the 5 diamond Pebble Beach properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful inn for three nights and truly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the Treehouse Room. It had a balcony that overlooked a tree. The room was spacious, well appointed, with mini refrigerator. A great buffet breakfast was provided (make sure to try the almond pastries) and snacks in the afternoon. But the biggest plus for me was how hospitable they were regarding my Yorkie. There were the treats, area specified for doing his business (doggie bags provided) and he was allowed in the breakfast room. I have stayed in other hotels closer to downtown, but found the Carmel Country Inn staff much more personable. I will definitely be returning (with my Yorkie in tow) to the Carmel Country Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you to Prince's people for including him on the trip and we are so glad to hear how much fun he had at Carmel Country Inn. We love our pet guests and try to provide everything they need as well as everything their people need, and believe me when I say, the Almond Crossiants are a Must Have on the list of needs. We hope to see all of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.