We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not really a B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free Midweek
Ranked #4 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Monroe, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice but not really a B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fine motel - the rooms are excellent, the location great, the people at the desk welcoming. But we had expected it to be a Bed & Breakfast of the sort we have grown used to. It is not. It is a nice motel. The breakfast is served in a common room, mostly cold things - fruits and juice and rolls and cold cereal (the oatmeal was not good - and I warn you off the "quiche") - coffee and tea from big thermos containers... We might I suppose stay here again, but we would look for a real B&B first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    85
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
245
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were so, SO happy to stay here. Sometimes places that are dog friendly aren't all that people friendly (kind of less clean or something). NOT SO THIS PLACE!! Uber clean. Really, really friendly inn keepers, really lovely breakfasts. We stayed in Room #2 and the soaking tub in it is PERFECTION. The bed was really comfy, the linens were very nice and the room itself is well appointed.

I want to say this also. When we first got there I was a little disappointed at the fact that it wasn't RIGHT in the Ocean Avenue area. But I have to say not only was it NOT an issue at all, it was actually really nice. When we would come back from the beach or shopping, it was like a little oasis.

This is our new favorite place in Carmel.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms. Room #2 has an incredible tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything was terrific, clean and comfortable except for the terrible sound proofing between 11&12. We'd certainly return but to a different room. Staff and breakfast were great and we were walking distance to town and beach and fireplace was a bonus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Carmel Country Inn. The staff and facility was perfect for our needs. We were visiting the city for the first time for an event known as Poodle Day in Carmel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with one bath. There were three of us(my husband and I as well as my mother) and two standard poodles. We were greeted graciously by the staff (including the dogs) and shown to our suite. The room was clean, beds were comfortable (including the pillows) and everything was perfect for our stay. The room we stayed in looked a littler older than the photos on the website but it was clean and perfectly acceptable. The walk to the beach was farther than I anticipated..it took about 10 minutes to get to the heart of downtown and about 20 to get to the beach. The internet was included and very fast. Everything we needed to feel comfortable and rested for our event was present. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Snacks were available all day I believe..cookies, trail mix and lemonade were in the office each time we visited. The staff is very knowledgable about the surrounding areas and educated us on where to go and what to see. They were also very friendly and met our request promptly. I would stay here again without question. Hope to attend this same event next year and will stay at this INN. Very pet friendly, very quaint, very homey and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our third stay, and it was as perfect as the first two.
Consistency IS everything, and the employees' high standards insure that nothing goes awry.
From the welcoming hellos to the sincere farewells, they make you feel as though you belong in your home away from home.

Centrally located, just blocks away from Ocean Avenue, Carmel Country Inn provides a secluded, comforting shelter from the faster paced 'downtown area'.

If there were any problems or deficiencies, we would tell you.
There were none.

ENJOY.

Room Tip: In so far as we can tell, all the rooms are good rooms...from the highest elevation to the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carmel Country Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We loved that we were a very short walk (5 minutes) into town. Great location! Our room was super cozy and clean. The gas fireplace was perfect, particularly since temps dipped into the low 50s at night. We definitely would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have always made a point to experience new locations as well as where I make my home on certain travel weekends. I've been the Monterey/Carmel area several times over the past year or so and have stayed in multiple locations with many amenities. This past trip had me reflecting on all of the above and for the first time I chose to go back to a previous Inn that I had at Prior. The experience the 2nd time around was better than even the first. This is rare in life in general, but true in the delivery of a consistent, predictable domicile for the weekend. It was so easy to smile when entering the room and was just as friendly and down to earth talking to the staff. Did I mention they have damn good coffee and fresh warm cookies!!!! I'll be back yet again. Why try and reinvent the wheel!

Room Tip: I've stayed on both the lower and upper levels. Both charming and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.