We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy, and super dog-friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, and super dog-friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently with our 4-legged traveling companion (our Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Abby), and were very pleased with our decision to stay at this charming inn. It was just what we needed--a friendly, comfortable place that made us feel right at home.

We stayed in room 12 which is a spacious King Suite. Our accommodation consisted of a large living room with a fireplace, two-seater couch, armchair, coffee table, TV, coffee maker, and a wooden cabinet with a refrigerator inside it. The bedroom had a comfortable king-sized bed, plenty of closet space, and a small flat-screen TV. The bathroom was very large with a fabulous whirlpool tub, a separate glass-enclosed shower, ample counter space, and plenty of soft, fluffy towels. Overall the furnishings were tasteful and suited the country-type ambiance of the inn. Even though this place is very popular with people traveling with their dogs, you wouldn't know that dogs had stayed here. It's spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

The breakfasts were great and offered a wide variety of options, ranging from fresh fruit salad (strawberries, grapes, blueberries) and yogurts to pastries, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, cereals, and quiches. I also liked that they had Peet's Coffee--regular and decaf. You have the option of eating breakfast in the cozy breakfast room or on the patio, or taking a tray back to your room.

The inn is on a quiet street, about a 10 minute walk to the beach or a 5 minute walk to the center of town. There is off-street parking in a courtyard. Overall, we loved our stay here, and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this charming, dog-friendly inn again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    84
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
243
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Even if you are not traveling with your pet, you will like this place because it is quiet, comfortable and close to downtown. It is walking distance to the beach.
We loved the place because they made our dogs feel really welcome. They even have a hose and towels to rinse your dogs after they have been to the beach! Carmel is a wonderful place to vacation with your pet because there are so many off leash parks, state parks and, of course, the beach. Many of the restaurants have outdoor seating that allows pets, but the inn will give you a list of recommended pet sitters who will come and watch your dog(s) in your room for you while you dine out alone! This gave us the best of both worlds - we could take our dogs with us on vacation but had the freedom to go out without them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have spent Christmas in this lovely Inn and it was a true treat. Cozy, tasteful and friendly. Delicious breakfast with lots of options, great location - every morning sunrise had a rainbow. We are avid animal lovers but unfortunately allergic to dog/cat hair but it wasn't a problem at all in this pet friendly Inn because they keep it spotlessly clean. Wonderful experience all around. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Our travelling party of us two from London and two friends from Florida found this place online and thought the accommodation offered would suit our purpose - but we didn't expect such a lovely place! It is tucked away off the main drag but it's a pleasant walk both to the beach and to the town centre. The breakfast is lovely and afternoon tea and snacks were available from 4 to 8 pm each day. Everyone was very pleasant and we really enjoyed our stay - it's where we will stay if we return to Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They really understand their guests and make you feel so welcomed and special. This place is a real charm within easy walking distant to the main districts and beaches of Carmel, note: we live in San Francisco and are use to walking.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely amenities. The style is country, not my usual taste but well suited. Very comfortable beds and the updated bathrooms really make it a hit.
The breakfast offers so many lovely pastries as well as quiche and oatmeal, fruits and breads, etc. (unfortunately the spinach quiche lacked a bit of flavor).
The breakfast room welcomes your dogs and they appreciate it, along with the dog biscuits available. You can also fill a tray to take back to your room.
A DVD library is available and they can also provide wine and cheese platters, a clam bake basket and more.
We opted for the suite, separate living room area and bedroom, very comfortable. We also had a dedicated parking space right in front of our room.
Definitely worth looking into for your next stay.

Room Tip: The suite is very comfortable if you plan on spending time in the room and has the dedicated parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Carmel Country Inn for Christmas and it is a great place to stay! We took our dog Hank with us and they treated all 3 of us wonderfully! The room was comfortable and clean and charming. We had quiche for beakfast and snacks in the afternoon. The staff is wonderful and the owner is kind and helpful. Hank was given a treat every time he went into the lobby to visit. The location is wonderful. You can walk to the shops downtown and you can walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not only did we feel like we were family upon picking up our keys at the Carmel Country Inn, but we adopted several pets that other families had brought. Being close to the beach made for some early morning and late evening beach photos. Everyone asked us where we were at in the photos and we told them just down the street from our new home for the weekend.
It was the first time in years I sat in a room and didn't bother turning on the TV. It was simply an escape from one world while having access to another. As some say, "There's a time and a place" and I now know any time and that's the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.