We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Someplace like home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Someplace like home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not only did we feel like we were family upon picking up our keys at the Carmel Country Inn, but we adopted several pets that other families had brought. Being close to the beach made for some early morning and late evening beach photos. Everyone asked us where we were at in the photos and we told them just down the street from our new home for the weekend.
It was the first time in years I sat in a room and didn't bother turning on the TV. It was simply an escape from one world while having access to another. As some say, "There's a time and a place" and I now know any time and that's the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    79
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
71
228
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a very friendly, pleasant establishment. My friend and I stayed in the 2 bed, 2 bath suite which worked out very well. Theres a good selection of the help yourself breakfast with beverages and snacks on tap all day. I do feel it is a little expensive for what you get, although our suite worked for us it was in need of some refurbishment, looking a little tired. Not right in the heart of things but this made it more special and it only took a few minutes to get into Carmel itself. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: The 2 bed, 2 bath suite is ideal for 2 couples or 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Inn is very friendly, the nice selection for breakfast along with the great cookies and snacks available through out the day is a nice treat. The location is very close to things, a few minutes walking to town along with a nice longer walk to the beach. The accommodations are comfortable with fireplace.
We like the 2 bath, 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a traditional older Carmel Bed and Breakfast that has been nicely upgraded. We stayed in the "Tree House" room. It was a great second story room, very private with a balcony and a Jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were very nice and there was fresh fruit, homemade cookies and coffee/tea available until 11 at night. The inn is a couple of block from Ocean Ave. Of course the big plus is that the Inn is extremely pet friendly. Bring your dogs. I want to note that our room had not pet odor at all. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms very clean--not the case for all "pet friendly" hotels. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a delightful discovery! My husband took me to Carmel for my birthday weekend and let me choose the place. I wanted to take our dog, so I searched for one that accepted pets since Carmel is so dog-friendly. Well, the innkeepers were so delightful I felt like I was staying with family and, thanks to all the friendly dogs, we got to know the other guests and just had a wonderful time. Can't wait for our next visit. And, did I say the rooms were extra cozy, big, clean and comfy? Loved the pumpkin bread and friendly, delicious breakfast. Short walk into Carmel (and perfectly located for the AT&T golf tournament).

Room Tip: There are two 2-bedroom suites (one with 2 baths and one with a single bath. Our room (#11 was upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to the Carmel Country Inn to vacation a bit before going into SF. We were in Room 5 which was spacious enough for us, just a very big bedroom with a couple of chairs and a really nice fireplace. We overlooked the parking lot.

We arrived late but the staff was accommodating; someone showed us to our room even though they left a key, and left cookies for us as snacks.

Parking is free, and seems that everyone was courteous about giving room to park.

The next morning we were great by "the gals and the cat" and a nice breakfast. The quiche is good but previously made. Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful and comes from a local bakery in town. Good coffee from Peets.

Close to town, which is a really nice way to spend the afternoon. Beach and ocena is supposed to be a couple blocks away also. Careful walking at night since streets are narrow and dark in this section of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second stay at the Carmel Country Inn. This time I had room 3, on the first floor. It's a 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite, (up 5 steps). The living room is smaller than the 2 bed, 2 bath suite. Rooms are dark, so you may want to bring a light if you are working on something that requires good lighting. The staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to help.
Parking is free, and can be tight if the inn is full.
Lots of pets.
Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful. Good coffee from Peets.
Only complaint, no grab bar in the tub/shower, it had a high side to get in and out of shower.

Room Tip: Room 3 is up a few steps, right off the parking lot. If stairs aren't an issue, room 8 is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.