We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Away With Dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #4 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Burbank, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Get Away With Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Inn is very friendly, the nice selection for breakfast along with the great cookies and snacks available through out the day is a nice treat. The location is very close to things, a few minutes walking to town along with a nice longer walk to the beach. The accommodations are comfortable with fireplace.
We like the 2 bath, 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    79
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
71
228
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Carmel Country Inn is a traditional older Carmel Bed and Breakfast that has been nicely upgraded. We stayed in the "Tree House" room. It was a great second story room, very private with a balcony and a Jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were very nice and there was fresh fruit, homemade cookies and coffee/tea available until 11 at night. The inn is a couple of block from Ocean Ave. Of course the big plus is that the Inn is extremely pet friendly. Bring your dogs. I want to note that our room had not pet odor at all. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms very clean--not the case for all "pet friendly" hotels. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a delightful discovery! My husband took me to Carmel for my birthday weekend and let me choose the place. I wanted to take our dog, so I searched for one that accepted pets since Carmel is so dog-friendly. Well, the innkeepers were so delightful I felt like I was staying with family and, thanks to all the friendly dogs, we got to know the other guests and just had a wonderful time. Can't wait for our next visit. And, did I say the rooms were extra cozy, big, clean and comfy? Loved the pumpkin bread and friendly, delicious breakfast. Short walk into Carmel (and perfectly located for the AT&T golf tournament).

Room Tip: There are two 2-bedroom suites (one with 2 baths and one with a single bath. Our room (#11 was upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to the Carmel Country Inn to vacation a bit before going into SF. We were in Room 5 which was spacious enough for us, just a very big bedroom with a couple of chairs and a really nice fireplace. We overlooked the parking lot.

We arrived late but the staff was accommodating; someone showed us to our room even though they left a key, and left cookies for us as snacks.

Parking is free, and seems that everyone was courteous about giving room to park.

The next morning we were great by "the gals and the cat" and a nice breakfast. The quiche is good but previously made. Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful and comes from a local bakery in town. Good coffee from Peets.

Close to town, which is a really nice way to spend the afternoon. Beach and ocena is supposed to be a couple blocks away also. Careful walking at night since streets are narrow and dark in this section of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second stay at the Carmel Country Inn. This time I had room 3, on the first floor. It's a 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite, (up 5 steps). The living room is smaller than the 2 bed, 2 bath suite. Rooms are dark, so you may want to bring a light if you are working on something that requires good lighting. The staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to help.
Parking is free, and can be tight if the inn is full.
Lots of pets.
Filling breakfast available, consists of quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and breads. The almond Danish is wonderful. Good coffee from Peets.
Only complaint, no grab bar in the tub/shower, it had a high side to get in and out of shower.

Room Tip: Room 3 is up a few steps, right off the parking lot. If stairs aren't an issue, room 8 is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very, very nice place. Staff, Breakfast and other items available through-out the day were all excellent.
Had room #10 separate little 'cottage' next door to main house. The room, suite actually was terrific - very comfortable.

Prettty good location to 'town'. A little far from beach. Convient to Montery Aquarium and Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Not cheap, but thought the Suite (#10) was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Carmel Country Inn was the perfect place to stay for our anniversary. Everyone there was beyond accommodating and so nice. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were served every day in the kitchen/front room - a great bed and breakfast touch for more of a motel style place. It is a few blocks off of Ocean Avenue, but it actually made it feel like more of a cozy retreat than a tourist trap. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Luxury King Studio for a newer room and your own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.