We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Country Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Country Inn
Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free Midweek
Ranked #4 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My group had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. On the 2nd floor, no elevator, so not good for those who can't do stairs. The suite was very nice. Fireplace in the living room. The rooms were good size. One bathroom was spacious the other very tiny.
Great breakfast included- quiche, oatmeal, yogurt, cereals, breads, fruit. The management was very friendly and informative.
Computer and printer in lobby, for guests. Free Wi-Fi for all rooms.
Pet friendly. On the weekend I think most of the rooms had pets in them.
Small parking lot.
Would definitely stay here again. In fact, we have made plans for next year.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, at the top of the stairs. I suggest suite 8, so you avoid the noise from the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    85
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
79
245
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

As a life long Bay Area resident, I have been to Carmel a million times over the years yet have somehow missed this gem! Our two bedroom suite was spacious, very well appointed and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect. The staff were perfectly attentive to our every need. It was wonderful two day get-a-way. Frankie my beagle loved it too! We will be back for sure! Molly L.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale,, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I try to stay at B&B's or Inn's whenever possible because I like the feel and ambiance. After reading several reviews, I thought this would be a good place for a two-day stay in the Carmel area ~ to which I have been to four or five times. I was very disappointed upon seeing the deluxe suite I reserved. It was in need of updating, as it was a mish-mash of stuff. No colors were uniform in the room ... bed uncomfortable, two small pillows for a king size bed that were so soft they gave no support, curtains that were difficult to close, no light to read in bed, a shelf that was so slanted holding a DVD component with wires hanging all over that it looked like it was going to fall any moment, bathroom that was updated but a shower that had a water valve that didn't work (with a note that it was just there for decoration - to use only the other one ....but I think it was installed wrong), toilet with a seat that was extremely small (we're not large people), blankets on the bed that were in need of cleaning, and so on. I'm not sure what was deluxe about the accommodation other than size. We are animal people so the fact that they allow dogs was more than fine with us - so that was not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelInnkeeper, Manager at Carmel Country Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Any time a guest is disappointed we are disappointed as well, especially when we learn of it only after the fact on Trip advisor. In the rare instance a guest is disappointed with their room and they let us know, we make every effort possible to solve the problem, move them to another room or assist in finding accommodations elsewhere.

Being a "country" inn, our decor is "country" style with coordinated bedding ensembles and furnishings from the likes of Pottery Barn, Innstyle, Linen Source, Company Store and Ballard Designs. Our beds are hand made my Monterey Mattress Company, the same type that Pebble Beach Resorts and Clint Eastwood's exclusive Tehama Resort purchases. Guests who have inquired about purchasing the mattresses outside the Northern California area will be glad to know that Monterey Mattress Company is closing a deal with HSN and you'll be able to purchase thru HSN and have them shipped anywhere! As for our pillows, we have extra in each closet and an abundance in reserve, as many guests wish to purchase them for their own beds.

All our rooms have been outfitted with flat screen tvs, some of which have built in DVD players, and some of the larger 40'+ that are wall mounted so you can view from your bed, have separate DVD players so guests can relax and enjoy our complimentary DVD collection of over 150 titles.

Carmel Country Inn is so blessed to have award winning developer/builder Chris Tescher at the helm of our establishment. Chris has been building custom Carmel Cottages & Estates in Pebble Beach for 30 years and when it comes to remodeling and upkeep of Carmel Country Inn, he spares no expense, using the same custom cabinet vendor, upscale tile and bath fixtures as you'd find in his homes, as well as the same subcontractors to install and maintain the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I (and our dog "Daisy") love this inn. It is so charming and comfortable! Wonderful breakfast (so much to choose from) and afternoon snacks. Lovely, clean rooms with cozy fireplaces, and luxurious bathrooms (with lots of fluffy towels). And did I mention the fabulous and attentive staff? This really is the best of Carmel! Two thumbs (and one dog paw) way up for the Carmel Country Inn. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Adorable place. It was the perfect location. Close to town and the beach. Beautiful place to walk around and explore. Our room was very comfortable and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our little family; my husband and I and our 3 dogs, stayed in one of the King Suites for two nights(wanted three but the other night was unavailable) Everything was perfect, beautifully clean, and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast, with quality produce and friendly, helpful staff.
Our three dogs were treated like rock stars and were very reluctant to leave...as were we! This wasn't our first time at the Inn and it won't be our last, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon trip to northern California. Service was outstanding, good breakfast, and location was good as well. A quick drive to 17 Mile Dr., a few blocks to the beach, and about an hour to Big Sur. My wife loved the all of the hanging flower baskets and the country decor. Definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Country Inn

Address: Dolores Street, PO Box 3756, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most pet friendly bed and breakfast in Carmel, CA. Our Carmel by the Sea inn features cozy rooms and spacious suites with luxurious surroundings, fireplaces, & 2 person Jacuzzi tubs. Our romantic Carmel, California bed and breakfast is ideally located only steps to amazing shopping, dining, galleries, & the beach. Come see why the Carmel Country Inn stands apart from all other pet friendly Carmel hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Country Hotel Carmel
Country Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.