We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Boissiere

Patisserie Boissiere
Mission, P. O. Box 5925, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-5008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Bakery, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: A relaxing and comforting venue modeled after a European chateau where tables are thoughtfully spaced and fresh flowers, fireplace, candles and soothing musical notes are integral part of the dining experience. The ambience sets the tone for French country food served with a great deal of care for detail, and pastries baked daily on premises.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've been there every time we are in the area. The pastries are as close to the ones in Europe as you can get. I don't like to eat in the restaurant. I find it a bit stuffy. I always buy the pastries to go. Then I buy my coffee at Carmel Coffee and Cocoa Bar which is around the corner and in the Carmel Plaza. Then I can have my coffee and pastries outside in the plaza.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    54
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had never been to Carmel before and while strolling around, we saw this restaurant. After checking out the menu, we booked a table for that evening. We were not disappointed! Linens and candlelight...lovely service. I had Coquilles St. Jacques filled with huge scallops and shrimp. My husband had grilled shrimp and pasta which he enjoyed. The owner personally came by each table to chat...it has been a restaurant for years and is still popular so they are definitely doing something correct. We totally enjoyed our evening there. Thanks!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The location, service and overall setup of the restaurant was really good. Wine list was also good, but the food was just average. Menu had very little choices. Given all the choices in carmel, I would not go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Carmel Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Patisserie Boissiere has excellent desserts and you can't miss them as you walk through the front door. I had a cup of soup, hot tea and a slice of chocolate cake that was so good. The menu consists of full meals, but this was just a snack.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Carmel's Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Patisserie, as we locals call it, has the best combination of good food, excellent service and casually elegant ambience. Whether dressed in jeans or smart attire, you are always treated with respect. White table cloths, fresh flowers and gentle candlelight contribute to a quiet atmosphere where conversations can be heard and enjoyed. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdy I, Owner at Patisserie Boissiere, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello Cindy,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

Magdy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Boissiere also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Patisserie Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Boissiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.