We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to imagine living in one of the houses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Road Walkway

Scenic Road Walkway
Scenic Road, Carmel Beach, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Carmel
Attraction details
DC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Easy to imagine living in one of the houses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What's not to love about seeing unique, cozy homes that face the ocean, aside from the price? We rode bikes along the Scenic Road. It was a good change of pace since the road into/out of Carmel from 17 Mile Drive is tough. There are a few places along the road with park benches. We had packed food & enjoyed lunch while looking at the beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Scenic Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have walked the beach on 17 Mile Drive several times, and always enjoyed it. We had less time this trip, and decided to walk all of Scenic Drive. Loved seeing all the beautiful and unusual house on one side of the street, and the Pacific Ocean on the other side.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pretty homes along the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Funny, we always walk down Ocean Avenue to visit the beach when we're in Carmel. This is our first time walking along Scenic Road. It was a nice residential walk along the beach. You walk along a paved side walk. When we went (Columbus holiday weekend), it was a bit busy. However, this didn't take away from us enjoying ourselves.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the the reason we came to California. It was incredible!! We had lunch at a place called Nepenthe's. The veiws we breathtaking

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Better than 17 mile Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a lovely walk or drive with the crashing ocean on one side and beautiful homes of all kinds from cozy cottages to McMansions on the other. Don't miss the Frank LLoyd Wright house along the way. Great photo ops at every step.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Road Walkway also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Scenic Road Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Road Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.