We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
coventry uk
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“lovely room and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we couldn't get an extra night at the Mission Ranch.

Our room was recently remodeled, very comfortable, with a large selection of cable channels and strong wifi. spotlessly clean.

The location was right in the centre of everything. Throughly reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location, within walking distance of the downtown area and the beach. Didn't deal with the staff much (phone reservation, check-in and check-out) but they were friendly and pleasant. We were able to extend our check-out to by a half hour to 11:30a which was nice. We were in a third floor room in the main building. We don't mind stairs and only had bags so it was no trouble, but if you don't like stairs or have suitcases it could be a hassle. Room and bathroom were clean but basic. Towels were fine but the bed was ok (too many places are offering comfort/luxury bedding now that I've come to expect it). Bathroom amenities were also basic but we didn't use them since we had brought our own. Overall for the price it was reasonable (since Carmel can be pricey), but besides the convenient, central location the rest of the property is just average.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked two Rustic Rooms for our one night stay. These rooms have not been refurbished but were very clean, well appointed and comfortable - if just a little dated (with a tiny bathroom!). However for the price we paid (which is very reasonable for Carmel) we were happy with our rooms and highly recommend the property. The receptionist was very helpful and efficient.

The big bonus for our family was the hotels' location in Carmel - close to the main street with it's excellent shopping and restaurants.

We highly recommend a visit to A W Shucks for drinks and dinner - great food, great ambience and resonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock in the evening and got a last minute booking by calling the hotel direct. The receptionist was very friendly and we were impressed by the room we were given it was very cosy with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location and will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: We had room 44 which is on the ground floor next door to reception, it is on a side road but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock on a Saturday evening, we were looking for a last minute booking. The receptionist was very friendly and the room we checked into was a nice surprise, very homely with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location & very reasonable rate for Carmel. A basic continental breakfast at Mission Ranch was included, glad we drove as it was quite a long walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 which was very nice, it is on the ground floor on a side road, next door to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Homestead many times and have always enjoyed whichever room we get. We do have our favorites, but each is quite comfortable. It's location to shops and restaurants is hard to beat. Prices are very reasonable, particularly for Carmel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked this since we've never tried it always staying at the Mission Ranch. Great location, in town, wonderful staff and you get the continental breakfast at the Ranch included. They have a common patio atop with fireplace. Here's the cons:
1. Bed has too high box spring making it bouncy.
2. Replace foam pillows with down or synthetic
3. Advise all guests the patio is for EVERYONE and not simply for selfish occupants of adjacent rooms.
4. Upgrade the room coffee to anything other than Folgers or Maxwell House since we live in the horn of coffee plenty!
5. We believe the Queens are NOT full sized queens since we both have them at home and ours are larger. Also, get fitted sheets!!!!!

We will stay there again but not in 44 since its literally on the sidewalk and street.

Room Tip: 44 if on the street with little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list