We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Palm Beach, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked two Rustic Rooms for our one night stay. These rooms have not been refurbished but were very clean, well appointed and comfortable - if just a little dated (with a tiny bathroom!). However for the price we paid (which is very reasonable for Carmel) we were happy with our rooms and highly recommend the property. The receptionist was very helpful and efficient.

The big bonus for our family was the hotels' location in Carmel - close to the main street with it's excellent shopping and restaurants.

We highly recommend a visit to A W Shucks for drinks and dinner - great food, great ambience and resonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock in the evening and got a last minute booking by calling the hotel direct. The receptionist was very friendly and we were impressed by the room we were given it was very cosy with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location and will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: We had room 44 which is on the ground floor next door to reception, it is on a side road but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock on a Saturday evening, we were looking for a last minute booking. The receptionist was very friendly and the room we checked into was a nice surprise, very homely with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location & very reasonable rate for Carmel. A basic continental breakfast at Mission Ranch was included, glad we drove as it was quite a long walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 which was very nice, it is on the ground floor on a side road, next door to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Homestead many times and have always enjoyed whichever room we get. We do have our favorites, but each is quite comfortable. It's location to shops and restaurants is hard to beat. Prices are very reasonable, particularly for Carmel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked this since we've never tried it always staying at the Mission Ranch. Great location, in town, wonderful staff and you get the continental breakfast at the Ranch included. They have a common patio atop with fireplace. Here's the cons:
1. Bed has too high box spring making it bouncy.
2. Replace foam pillows with down or synthetic
3. Advise all guests the patio is for EVERYONE and not simply for selfish occupants of adjacent rooms.
4. Upgrade the room coffee to anything other than Folgers or Maxwell House since we live in the horn of coffee plenty!
5. We believe the Queens are NOT full sized queens since we both have them at home and ours are larger. Also, get fitted sheets!!!!!

We will stay there again but not in 44 since its literally on the sidewalk and street.

Room Tip: 44 if on the street with little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We found the Inn by accident as we arrived looking for another address. The Inn is owned and operated by the same as Mission Ranch. The breakfast that is included in the room we had to hike about half mile to the Mission Ranch. The atmosphere of the area is intoxicating and so enticing to visit but the breakfast is not for "everybody" as the choice was too simple. When we ate dinner at the Ranch it was wonderful and fresh, but the continental breakfast at the tennis club is a toaster and some cartons of juice. They had instant oatmeal but it would have been nice if other options (even for a charge) would have been available. I don't know why the restaurant isn't open because the rooms are pretty expensive and the breakfast was a crash to the atmosphere created.

Room Tip: Higher floor is definitely more charming as the view is possible. Very clear and the rooms toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the area. Great location and within walking distance to town and the beach. Clean and quiet room for a peaceful rest. We were given the handicapped room on the ground floor and found it very comfortable and extremely spacious. Complimentary bottled water in room. Off site parking and easy to find parking near inn. Most guests are golfers while visiting pebble beach golf courses. Did not drive over to Mission Ranch for breakfast. We did visit Mission ranch but found the location too far to walk and bothersome to drive to town and then find car park (2hrs limit) each time too cumbersome. Will definitely stay here again on next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.