We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Quaint and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We found the Inn by accident as we arrived looking for another address. The Inn is owned and operated by the same as Mission Ranch. The breakfast that is included in the room we had to hike about half mile to the Mission Ranch. The atmosphere of the area is intoxicating and so enticing to visit but the breakfast is not for "everybody" as the choice was too simple. When we ate dinner at the Ranch it was wonderful and fresh, but the continental breakfast at the tennis club is a toaster and some cartons of juice. They had instant oatmeal but it would have been nice if other options (even for a charge) would have been available. I don't know why the restaurant isn't open because the rooms are pretty expensive and the breakfast was a crash to the atmosphere created.

Room Tip: Higher floor is definitely more charming as the view is possible. Very clear and the rooms toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the area. Great location and within walking distance to town and the beach. Clean and quiet room for a peaceful rest. We were given the handicapped room on the ground floor and found it very comfortable and extremely spacious. Complimentary bottled water in room. Off site parking and easy to find parking near inn. Most guests are golfers while visiting pebble beach golf courses. Did not drive over to Mission Ranch for breakfast. We did visit Mission ranch but found the location too far to walk and bothersome to drive to town and then find car park (2hrs limit) each time too cumbersome. Will definitely stay here again on next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I planned a California Vacation for me and my husband this year that allowed us to take our time and truly enjoy the California coastline. After a recommendation by a friend to look into booking the Tickle Pink Inn I just could not get a room. They were totally booked so I searched TA again for the next best thing, or better.

Came across this place and was not disappointed. Or at least not too much.

Location: I love the location of the Inn. It is within walking distance of Ocean Drive with so many unique shopping and restaurants so going on foot was not an issue.

Parking: Parking may be an issue because this is a quaint town that doesn't have the big name hotels/motels so there are no parking lots or garages. Parking is around the Inn which is situated in a Carmel neighborhood.

Room: Note, there is NO elevator here which I was not aware of this when I booked a room on the top floor. With a weeks' worth of clothes packed in large suitcases, it was challenging to go up the narrow and winding stairwell but it's doable. The room was very clean, with what I consider Mission style furniture which consisted of firm but comfortable queen bed, dresser, flat screen, accent table and leather wing back chair, a dark wood slated blinds, and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was large with a stand up shower, gold plumbing fixtures, old fashioned toilet and sink. Very charming. My one complaint, only because I'm from Texas is that there was no air conditioning despite there being two control panels that lead you to believe there is. HA! With cool nights in Carmel it turned out fine.

Price: The price was very reasonable. $180 a night. Note, if you arrive late, you must check coordinate a time that you will arrive so there's a clerk there when you arrive to get you checked in. Otherwise, you will have to drive to the Mission Ranch location. It's quite dark at night and hard to navigate if you're not familiar with the area, which we were not so it took me awhile to get us to the Inn after leaving the Ranch.

All in all, if or when we come back and there's no room at the Mission Ranch, we would come back to the Inn. We enjoyed the rest.

Room Tip: Always call prior to booking so you know what you're getting into so you're not disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this Inn by chance when we were looking for a place to stay for the night and what a fine it is. The room was very spacious and very comfortable with lots of light due to all of the windows making it quite pleasant. Easy walking distance to town and you also get quite a nice breakfast with it. When we come back to Carmel we will book this Inn far enough in advance so that we know we will stay in a place that provides comfort at a wonderful price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I thought this was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in on our trip. The room was huge with a lovely fire in the corner that lit at the touch of a button. The decor was lovely, beds comfortable, it was not only faultless is was stylish and comfortable. The staff were helpful. We all loved this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Like so many others, my husband and I were shunted to the Homestead Inn after unsuccessfully trying to book a last-minute room at the sister property, the Mission Ranch. Before committing, we read some reviews that led us to believe that we'd be in a rustic place where we wouldn't have an internet connection or a decent television. I arrived expecting to get splinters in my palms if I touched the walls and where I'd be lucky to check email from my phone. So we were surprised to be led to a spacious room that I wouldn't describe as "rustic" at all, where the internet connection was flawless and the TV was up-to-date. The bathroom was huge, with a vanity that swept the length of it (very handy for spreading out all our gear).

The room was spotless, and we loved the folksy character of the inn (e.g., the staff departs at 7:30 and the room key opens the main door). We had planned to stay for one night but ended up booking a second because we felt so comfortable and relaxed. Oddly enough, even though we were there in the high season, we never saw another guest at the inn although I think the inn was actually full. (When we asked for the second night, we were initially told it was fine. Then, later, the desk clerk informed us with great regret that they'd made a mistake and that we'd have to switch rooms. So, to compensate, they moved us to a bigger room with a terrace and charged us the same price we'd paid for the smaller room with no terrace.)

Breakfast (satisfactory but not stupendous) was served at the Mission Ranch, about a mile away. Some other reviewers have complained about this, but we didn't mind at all. It gave us a chance to rubberneck at the Ranch and to see what we'd missed out on. The Ranch was charming and the setting was beautiful, but we agreed that we'd lucked out when it was full up. We preferred the quiet charm and walk-to-town-and-beach location of The Homestead.

The only very minor negative of the Homestead was the necessity of on-street parking. We never had trouble finding a spot but sometimes it was a couple blocks away and required an uphill climb to the inn. We are in decent shape for 60+ and could handle the mini-hike with no problem, but older travelers might find it a bit trying. Some of the parking adjacent to the inn is legal all day but some is restricted to two hours during the day. So our stay at The Homestead did require a little bit of juggling with the car. (My husband actually lost it at one point but I knew where it was all along, which is a decent argument in favor of marriage ... the ol' two-heads-are-better-than-one theory.) So the parking was a minor inconvenience for us but perhaps a bigger problem for those with mobility challenges. (There is a check-in spot right in front of the hotel and maybe it doubles as handicapped parking. Not sure about that.)

Overall, we LOVED this place and will go out of our way to stay here again. TIP: For a beautiful and easy walk from the Homestead Inn, head down the hill to the ocean. Don't turn right (towards the small but bustling, touristy town) but instead take a left on the path that goes along the ocean. There are beautiful ocean views on one side and lovely homes on the other. It's much nicer to walk along this path than it is to take the overpriced 17-mile drive nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After having stayed at the Mission Ranch years, ago, I was very curious to see if The Homestead would match it for beauty and service. What the inn lacks in property (it is a series of small apartment-like rooms about two blocks from the center of Carmel), it makes up for in charm. Tucked into a corner lot, the suites are just steps from each other with beautiful hanging baskets of flowers, little stone paths, tiny porches, and as many flowers as can be packed into such a small space. Our room was very large, with two queen-sized beds. There was a small gas fireplace tucked in one corner of the room, and two armoires, one of which hid a large television. The decor was rustic, but very tasteful and understated. There were two comfortable swivel leather club chairs, as well as a good-sized table and chairs. We also had a coffee machine in the room, but no fridge. There was also no air conditioning, but the weather was very cool and there was a ceiling fan, so we were very comfortable--although the street does get noisy fairly early in the morning. The bathroom was large and bright and clean with fluffy towels and bathrobes, but it did take us a little while to figure out how to make the shower work (pull down on the spout in the tub faucet). We especially liked the little stone patio with a stone fireplace right outside our room. With all the potted flowers and little garden, it was a restful place to sit. The convenience of walking into town was lovely--just two short blocks to all the restaurants, shops, and art galleries that Carmel has to offer. The beach is also just a short walk away (although the return walk uphill was a little tiring). Parking was not available at the inn but we had no problem finding street parking very close by. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast offered at the Mission Ranch. We were excited to go, but it was very meager. Coffee and tea, a rather picked over selection of sad little donuts and bagels, and either Cheerios or granola. There was, however, plenty of fresh fruit. The little cartons of orange juice were a watery concentrate--some cheap brand I had never heard of. Breakfast was served in the tennis clubhouse where there were very few tables and people kept coming in and out in their tennis attire, sweaty from playing, buying balls, and generally making us feel very out of place--not at all a relaxing start to the day and not worth the drive over. Overall, though, we had a wonderful stay and I definitely would recommend it to anyone visiting Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side may be noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.