We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Save Saved
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxury at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this Inn by chance when we were looking for a place to stay for the night and what a fine it is. The room was very spacious and very comfortable with lots of light due to all of the windows making it quite pleasant. Easy walking distance to town and you also get quite a nice breakfast with it. When we come back to Carmel we will book this Inn far enough in advance so that we know we will stay in a place that provides comfort at a wonderful price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I thought this was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in on our trip. The room was huge with a lovely fire in the corner that lit at the touch of a button. The decor was lovely, beds comfortable, it was not only faultless is was stylish and comfortable. The staff were helpful. We all loved this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Like so many others, my husband and I were shunted to the Homestead Inn after unsuccessfully trying to book a last-minute room at the sister property, the Mission Ranch. Before committing, we read some reviews that led us to believe that we'd be in a rustic place where we wouldn't have an internet connection or a decent television. I arrived expecting to get splinters in my palms if I touched the walls and where I'd be lucky to check email from my phone. So we were surprised to be led to a spacious room that I wouldn't describe as "rustic" at all, where the internet connection was flawless and the TV was up-to-date. The bathroom was huge, with a vanity that swept the length of it (very handy for spreading out all our gear).

The room was spotless, and we loved the folksy character of the inn (e.g., the staff departs at 7:30 and the room key opens the main door). We had planned to stay for one night but ended up booking a second because we felt so comfortable and relaxed. Oddly enough, even though we were there in the high season, we never saw another guest at the inn although I think the inn was actually full. (When we asked for the second night, we were initially told it was fine. Then, later, the desk clerk informed us with great regret that they'd made a mistake and that we'd have to switch rooms. So, to compensate, they moved us to a bigger room with a terrace and charged us the same price we'd paid for the smaller room with no terrace.)

Breakfast (satisfactory but not stupendous) was served at the Mission Ranch, about a mile away. Some other reviewers have complained about this, but we didn't mind at all. It gave us a chance to rubberneck at the Ranch and to see what we'd missed out on. The Ranch was charming and the setting was beautiful, but we agreed that we'd lucked out when it was full up. We preferred the quiet charm and walk-to-town-and-beach location of The Homestead.

The only very minor negative of the Homestead was the necessity of on-street parking. We never had trouble finding a spot but sometimes it was a couple blocks away and required an uphill climb to the inn. We are in decent shape for 60+ and could handle the mini-hike with no problem, but older travelers might find it a bit trying. Some of the parking adjacent to the inn is legal all day but some is restricted to two hours during the day. So our stay at The Homestead did require a little bit of juggling with the car. (My husband actually lost it at one point but I knew where it was all along, which is a decent argument in favor of marriage ... the ol' two-heads-are-better-than-one theory.) So the parking was a minor inconvenience for us but perhaps a bigger problem for those with mobility challenges. (There is a check-in spot right in front of the hotel and maybe it doubles as handicapped parking. Not sure about that.)

Overall, we LOVED this place and will go out of our way to stay here again. TIP: For a beautiful and easy walk from the Homestead Inn, head down the hill to the ocean. Don't turn right (towards the small but bustling, touristy town) but instead take a left on the path that goes along the ocean. There are beautiful ocean views on one side and lovely homes on the other. It's much nicer to walk along this path than it is to take the overpriced 17-mile drive nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After having stayed at the Mission Ranch years, ago, I was very curious to see if The Homestead would match it for beauty and service. What the inn lacks in property (it is a series of small apartment-like rooms about two blocks from the center of Carmel), it makes up for in charm. Tucked into a corner lot, the suites are just steps from each other with beautiful hanging baskets of flowers, little stone paths, tiny porches, and as many flowers as can be packed into such a small space. Our room was very large, with two queen-sized beds. There was a small gas fireplace tucked in one corner of the room, and two armoires, one of which hid a large television. The decor was rustic, but very tasteful and understated. There were two comfortable swivel leather club chairs, as well as a good-sized table and chairs. We also had a coffee machine in the room, but no fridge. There was also no air conditioning, but the weather was very cool and there was a ceiling fan, so we were very comfortable--although the street does get noisy fairly early in the morning. The bathroom was large and bright and clean with fluffy towels and bathrobes, but it did take us a little while to figure out how to make the shower work (pull down on the spout in the tub faucet). We especially liked the little stone patio with a stone fireplace right outside our room. With all the potted flowers and little garden, it was a restful place to sit. The convenience of walking into town was lovely--just two short blocks to all the restaurants, shops, and art galleries that Carmel has to offer. The beach is also just a short walk away (although the return walk uphill was a little tiring). Parking was not available at the inn but we had no problem finding street parking very close by. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast offered at the Mission Ranch. We were excited to go, but it was very meager. Coffee and tea, a rather picked over selection of sad little donuts and bagels, and either Cheerios or granola. There was, however, plenty of fresh fruit. The little cartons of orange juice were a watery concentrate--some cheap brand I had never heard of. Breakfast was served in the tennis clubhouse where there were very few tables and people kept coming in and out in their tennis attire, sweaty from playing, buying balls, and generally making us feel very out of place--not at all a relaxing start to the day and not worth the drive over. Overall, though, we had a wonderful stay and I definitely would recommend it to anyone visiting Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side may be noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had stayed at the Mission Ranch many years ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. While we were initially disappointed when there was no room there during this visit, the Homestead Inn was an excellent alternative. The close proximity to town center and the beach was great and the area was exceptional for early morning walks, shopping, and excellent dining options. The wonderful amenities at the Inn, including a small porch outside the room, stone patio, and outdoor fireplace surrounded by beautiful flowers were excellent. Joey was a great help at checkin and Joyce was consistently accommodating during our stay and at checkout. The breakfast, served in the tennis area at Mission Ranch, was disappointing. It was supposed to include hot and cold entries, but the only hot items were the toaster and coffee and tea, and the rest was fair at best.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard (#52) and was a great choice, although the street noise on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Homestead Inn on our trip up the coast. The Ranch was full so we chose this inn. It was the perfect stopover hotel. We stayed in one of the rustic rooms which felt a little bit like staying at grandma's house. Very clean. Make sure you check in before 7:30pm, otherwise you have to wait for someone to come over from Mission Ranch to check you in. The office closes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the "rustic" rooms in the rear building for three nights. One queen bed, fireplace, little kitchen. We loved it! Very convenient to town but quieter because it is on a side street. There is a little grocer a block away if you need to pick something up. I liked the old- fashioned feel of the room. Reminded me of a cabin in the mountains! Anyway, I'm not super picky about decor, as long as things are clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. We spent the money we saved on more fun things. Parking wasn't a problem at all, and we were there during the Marathon weekend. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.