We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Northeast USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A great location as an easy walk to everything in Carmel. Very clean, very lovely, nice plantings. First class linens, a fireplace, and free breakfast at that famous Rancho place included. Entirely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location is fantastic. It is easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Carmel. Our room was big,very nicely furnished,and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a nice glass shower and was spotless! The toiletries were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just "happened" to stumble upon this gem. We initially contacted Mission Ranch for a reservation, but they had no vacancy. They offered a room at their "sister location". We were thrilled with this place. Our room was spacious and airy. The bathroom was very large and wonderfully clean( I am somewhat of a "clean freak").

We opened the windows and enjoyed a very peaceful night's sleep.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The price was very reasonable!!

If we are ever in Carmel again, this place will be on the list.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well cared for and modern room with super large bathrooms. Fabulous walk to location, staff was very nice and helpful. We had dinner on the patio on the ranch and watched the sheep in the pasture and idealic setting of the bay. Fabulous food

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Homestead is on a side street in Carmel which increases it's appeal as far as I'm concerned. Our room had a double bed, a twin bed, a little roof top deck, a full kitchen including an oven and stove, bathroom, and dining area. The fixtures were lovely and old fashioned. There are nice little seating areas throughout the property and you are still walking distance to the beach or Ocean Ave for the shops.

One thing to be prepared for is there is no parking in front of the hotel. There's a loading zone and then you need to go into the more residential neighborhoods to park your car, but this really wasn't a hardship.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were walk-ins. Paid full price. The rates are the lowest in Carmel which is still outrageous. But if you want a room in Carmel you're going to pay big bucks. You may want to see your room before you register. They are all completely different. This is an old house brought up to modern standards. The Homestead (that is the full name. Not Inn or B&B) is a Clint Eastwood Mission Ranch property and breakfast is a short car ride to Mission Ranch. The room was nicely furnished and clean with a very good shower.
The center of town is a short two block walk and there are lots of good restaurants. Enjoy Carmel.

Room Tip: There are at least three rooms that have access from inside as well as an outside door. Our room, 47...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were trying to stay at Mission Ranch, but that property was full. They offered us a room at the sister property in town and it worked out even better! We stayed in a "rustic" room, it was very homey and comfortable, it had a mini-kitchen and a working gas fireplace! Best of all the rate was fantastic compared to other hotels in Carmel and included a continental breakfast at Mission Ranch! We enjoyed the quiet of our cozy room and the front desk was very helpful with a map of the city and a recommendation for the "The Cottage" for breakfast (we wanted a regular breakfast), bring your appetite- it was delicious and huge!
We found another review on TA that recommended Little Napoli around the corner from the hotel, but we were there on a Friday evening and had dinner at their wine bar next door... (Reservations for the restaurant are advised!) It was wonderful! All in all when we return to Carmel, we will look for reservations at this hotel again!

Room Tip: There are quite a few stone steps at this hotel, so if you have mobility issues, take this into acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list