We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for walking the town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for walking the town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were trying to stay at Mission Ranch, but that property was full. They offered us a room at the sister property in town and it worked out even better! We stayed in a "rustic" room, it was very homey and comfortable, it had a mini-kitchen and a working gas fireplace! Best of all the rate was fantastic compared to other hotels in Carmel and included a continental breakfast at Mission Ranch! We enjoyed the quiet of our cozy room and the front desk was very helpful with a map of the city and a recommendation for the "The Cottage" for breakfast (we wanted a regular breakfast), bring your appetite- it was delicious and huge!
We found another review on TA that recommended Little Napoli around the corner from the hotel, but we were there on a Friday evening and had dinner at their wine bar next door... (Reservations for the restaurant are advised!) It was wonderful! All in all when we return to Carmel, we will look for reservations at this hotel again!

Room Tip: There are quite a few stone steps at this hotel, so if you have mobility issues, take this into acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

First of all THE PHOTO ABOVE IS NOT OF THIS PROPERTY. The Homestead Inn in Carmel, CA, looks NOTHING like that photo of a big white house with long drive. To see what it really looks like, I suggest you go to their website at 'homesteadcarmel dot com'. (I have a month ago told tripadvisor that the photo is wrong but it is still there. So that's why I put that statement there.)

My mother stayed at The Homestead in Carmel, and I was able to see the room that day. She had the two-queen-bed size room which had been remodeled. Very, very nice inside. Yes, the bathroom was a bit small, but very nicely decorated. It's in a quiet part of Carmel, and the property itself is quiet. The mood of the place sort of attracts more quiet people anyway, I think. Not a party place, just a very comfortable, well-kept property to be cozy in after walking around enchanting Carmel.

I have made a reservation for one of the 'Rustic' rooms, and can hardly wait to experience it myself. The price is fantastic, and I have confidence that it will be a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was nicely decorated. Large bathroom and great location. Only con was lack of air conditioning. This required open windows which was not preferable when you have noisy neighbors. The rooms are close together and our neighbor would start yelling into his phone at 6:00 am. Needless to say we could hear the whole conversation. Such close quarters require closed window which means the rooms should have AC. It was in the 80's during our visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Romantic, good location, very clean. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis,Ca
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed in the Homestead Inn for 2 nights last week. We had room #51, it was a good size for a couple,although the bathroom is a bit small. We enjoyed the scenery as well as the outside fireplace, although we wished it was lit longer in the evening. The area was quiet and peaceful. It was close or within walking distance to everywhere, especially the ocean. We will definetely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

Just got back from Carmel, and spent 2 comfortable nights there. I stayed in Rm 52, the largest of the accomodations this B&B offers.
Pluses: bed's pretty firm yet soft, the leather rocking chairs in the sitting area, the gas fireplace in the room, the outdoor fireplace (lit by request until 8 p.m.) outside the door, a few blocks from downtown Carmel
Minuses: bathroom's on the smallish side, B&B is hard to find (we initially found Carmel hard to navigate because we didn't realize all the street names are posted on the stop signs), continental breakfast served at the Mission Ranch tennis club about a mile away, curbside parking (a minor minus for us), rec room full of free weights and exercise machines at the Mission Ranch tennis club
Plus or Minus depending on point of view: the staff leaves at 8 p.m.
Thought I would post this since I couldn't find anything about this B&B when I was researching it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.