We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Be Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Save
You added Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites to your Saves list
S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
call for best rate
Ranked #1 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“We Will Be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Lamp Lighter. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, and the overall surroundings are pleasant. The fire pits are great during the cooler time of the day/evening. The location is perfect for walking to the beach. The staff that we encountered are all friendly and very accommodating. Last, but not least, Annie, our little wire fox terrier enjoyed her stay as well. Thanks, everyone at the Lamp Lighter, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    77
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
116
307
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Lamp Lighter Inn in Carmel. The location is fantastic, the service was attentive. We enjoyed the outdoor seating areas with their fire pits where wine and cheese was served each evening and breakfast in the am. Rooms are cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I loved just about everything about our stay here.
The bathroom was in need of updating. The shower sorta have us the creeps.
Loved the wood burning fireplace and loved the smell when we entered the room reminded me of my Uncle and Aunts house in the woods of Wisconsin which brought back good memories.
The people in charge where friendly maybe a bit too talkative but very nice. Loved that it was so close to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stay at the Lamp Lighter, walk to then beach, walk downtown and eat good food at many different places especially Demetra Cafe! The staff and accomdations were simply great. Starting with the nice feeling as soon as you walk in to the Lamp Lighter, you are greeted with warmth and happiness from anyone that works there. Enjoy the cheese and wine at night that they offer and a nice continental breakfast in the morning. We were lucky enough to have a room that had a fireplace so when we were done with our day, it was nice to light and fire and relax.

Would I stay here again?
YES I would again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is our second time staying here - my wife and I, plus our golden retriever - and we are already planning our return. The 'Porpoise Room' is perfect for us: quiet, ground floor, with a private patio complete with fountain. Evening wine & cheese by the outdoor fire pit, morning breakfast, a superb staff, and an easy walk to the beach -- someone show me a negative side to this! This is easily our #1 place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: Ground floor is great when you bring your dog, as we do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Its the second night of a two night stay in the Porpoise room. If it were not for Ambien, Id get NO sleep. This room is on the first floor, & we can hear every word, & foot step of the guests above us. Initially we thought we were below the laundry room because it sounds like there's a washing machine on the spin cycle above us. But apparently its just the people upstairs...maybe their jacuzzi tub? The grounds are cute; the staff are helpful & dog friendly. I WOULD HAVE easily rated this place as a 4 or 5, If the room was not so terribly noisy, dusty, &
dated.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed only a couple of nights but found our stay really relaxing and loved our little cottage room. The outside fireplaces and little touches like the complimentary sherry in the room were lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.