We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hideaway when you need some R & R!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Save
You added Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites to your Saves list
S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
call for best rate
Ranked #1 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome hideaway when you need some R & R!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the lamplighter inn for 2 nights as part of our 4 week honeymoon in the USA. We booked this after a crazy 8 days in LA and Las Vegas, so the laid back nature of Carmel was a welcome relief. Everything about this B&B was top notch. We booked the Porpoise room and we were so impressed, such a lovely room with a fireplace! It was exactly what we needed to recharge our batteries. We were probably the youngest people at the Inn, but we still enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon by the fire. It was great to just sit, have a wine and enjoy the afternoon! The management was amazing, very helpful with where to go and what to see. Nothing was to much for them. Being Australian's, they even put out Vegemite in the mornings for our breakfast!! The continental breakfast was also the best we have had on our trip so far. So all in all, it was a perfect stay and I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a nice relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: If you are looking for decent wifi, I wouldn't recommend the porpoise room as we didn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    77
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
116
307
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our holiday to Vegas & San Francisco so glad we did. We booked Hansel & Gretal cottage which is so cute with lovely log fire. We were made to feel so welcome with a lovely bottle of fizz waiting for us. The fire pit outside where guests sit and chat is so lovely cheese & wine early evening is such a lovely touch. Peggy can't do enough for anyone she's a great person wanting to know what everybody has been doing in the day and where they are going to dinner helping with reservations etc. Shadow the resident cat is quite a character. We would love to return one day can't think there would be anywhere nicer to stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a truly fantastic week here. Couldn't be more perfect. Location, hospitality, service, community, and most of all, Peggy. Peggy is a world class hospitality professional who makes you feel like the only guest in the world. Great rooms, great fire pit, great conversation, great afternoon wine and cheese, easy walk to the beach and everything in town. We didn't want to leave, and have booked again for two weeks hence. Love this spot.

Room Tip: Concours Suite is only truly handicap accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived in Carmel without reservations. While walking down Ocean Ave. we past several inns. The Lamp Lighter looked particularly attractive and fortunately they still had several rooms available. Really liked their wine & cheese reception from 5 to 6pm and the free breakfast in the morning. It was also very clean, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, In
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

i just returned from a 2 night stay in the bluebird cottage. we booked this as it had a separate room upstairs, but had we known how little privacy it provided, we probably would have chosen differently. with that said, the rooms are so cute, very clean, very comfortable beds and the outdoor shared areas are fabulous. we spent lots of time by the fire pit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed. We were travelling with two other couples and I booked Sea otter, Sea Lion & Dolphin rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Bathroom was compact but adequate. Drinks & cheese at 5 pm around the fire was a great way to relax and meet new people. Delicious breakfast each morning. I overheard one man getting a bucket with supplies to make a small bonfire down on the beach with a meal - how romantic I want to do that next time! Great location handy to shops, restaurants and beach. Easy parking. Warm and friendly team who were so helpful. Beds were very comfortable with good pillows. My husband said he could happily stay for longer sadly we had flights we couldn't change but that told me how much he was enjoying the spot. Lovely sea view from Sea Otter & Lion along. Warm and sunny too. Looking forward to returning. We have stayed in 3 other Carmel hotels we will return to this one!

Room Tip: For a sea view Sea Lion or Sea Otter. Some rooms have an open fire ( gorgeous) Sea Lion has a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've stated at Lamp Lighter 3 years in a row now for Poodle Day weekend; and we book the same room the second we arrive. We're big fans of the Sea Lion room, because it's away from Ocean Drive (less noise from the drunks), plus we can hear and see the ocean. We love to sleep with our windows open at night, while we light a fire in the cozy fireplace room. Our mini poodle takes flying leap into the bed each year, wagging tail as if he knows "yippee! it's vacation time!"

Probably the only time I wouldn't stay at the LampLighter was if I knew it was going to be a rainy stay; because the common areas are all outside. This is wonderful during the dry season, and a key reason we love going there.

The friendliness and flexibility of the staff cannot be overstated. The entire hotel is filled with poodle people, and they help out every way they can. We absolutely look forward to wine and cheese by the fire each night with our friends; we always enjoy the glass of sherry in the room.

To those who complain about price vs. amenities, I have only this to say: we are budget travellers. This is Carmel. You are paying for a location and an atmosphere, not for Ritz accommodations. There are all sorts of restrictions in the town of Carmel about the use of water (look up water rights) that regulate how the plumbing can work. The hotel is the closest to the beach: simply 4 blocks away. When you want to spend as much time on it as we do with our dog, that's a plus. Also: dog shower outside and they will give you towels.

The rooms are clean, they are cute, the beds are comfortable, they love dogs and they remember your name and greet you each year. You'd be a fool to stay anywhere else; but then again during Poodle Day you will have no choice: everyone this year already booked for next year.

Room Tip: There is no AC but most of the time you will not need it. We're big fans of the Sea Lion room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.