We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites to your Saves list
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
call direct for best rate
Ranked #1 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed just one night (two would have been better!) in June and absolutley loved Lamp Lighter Inn. Our room was Tree Top House and it was just gorgeous. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom, especially the shower was on the small side but luckily we're not large people. We arrived in time for the end of wine & cheese hour and enjoyed meeting other guests. We ate up the road at Flahertys Seafood Grill - delicious! Being cat people and missing our furkids, it was lovely to have Shadow come and sleep on our bed for half the night. The breakfast was more than adequate and we were most happy to see a jar of Vegemite out for us 'Aussies'. We would definately stay again if ever back in Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    84
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
126
331
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Early Bird Cottage, with our daughters 6 and 9 years old in September 2013, our first visit to Carmel, CA. This was the highlight of our week long stay. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious despite the tiny shower - which is understandable given how long the inn has been around. Great location - we walked to the beach. The resident cat Shadow was very playful and our girls LOVED playing with him. Peggy gave us plenty of toys to keep him entertained and it was nice to chat to people at the wine hour by the fire pit. breakfast consisted of a self service room with pastries, breads, fruit and yoghurt.

This a charming place and we look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Lamplighter Inn for just one night and had two rooms between the four of us. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our rooms which were both really substantial and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the early evening drinks and nibbles before heading out for dinner. We were on a tight schedule for our west coast trip so couldn't fit in more than one night here but we all agreed that if we had our time again we would have been happy to have stayed at least 2 and probably 3 nights. A lovely Inn in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had no plans on staying in Carmel for the night, as we were driving up from LA to San Francisco (and did not have much time. As we decided to stay overnight, we drove around to find somewhere to sleep. The Lamp Lighter Inn was one of the hotels I had seen when researching. It was a rainy day and the staff was very nice. As they did not have na available room in the main part of the hotel they asked if we were interested to see a room across the street. The room was located on the top of a garage just in front of the hotel and belonged to them. So they showed us the room and it was very cute! There was a little kitchen, bathroom, nice decorated bedroom with fireplace. Just one word: adorable! Breakfast is served in a small room near the reception desk but that´s not a problem because there´s lots of availabe seating space outside (including an outdoor fireplace). The location is very nice too. I do recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our second visit and we really like this property. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We like the light morning breakfast routine and the evening wine and cheese in front of the reflecting gas fire. We also really enjoyed (again) our contact with Mel (Melissa Smith) on the staff here and feel all of the staff are first rate, even Shadow, the cat (who tolerated our advances)! In our opinion, it is this outstanding staff that make this a delightful place to stay. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Peggy is a gem. We stayed in the Dali suite very comfortable. Walking distance is everything.
Breakfast was delivered so sweet. Afternoon wine and cheese very nice.
Peggy has great recommendations for dining and shopping. Take 17 mile drive. Pebble beach is a great stop along the way

Room Tip: Dali was great but removed from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a great location for relaxation, great service, outstanding staff and an overall memorable time. Everyone from Robert the owner, to Peggy the manager the support staff of Melissa, Cindy and the housekeeping staff went out of their way to ensure our every need was taken care of. Peggy in particular was outstanding; she recommended restaurants and made the reservations ... she even visited the restaurants to confirm the reservation.
We intend to make a visit the the Lamp Lighter an annual event; go there and see for yourself!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center so could not rate. Take a walk on Scenic Drive for a one hour return walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#4 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.