We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our weekend get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Save Saved
You added Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites to your Saves list
S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
call for best rate
Ranked #1 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Twain Harte, California
1 review
“We loved our weekend get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend get away at the Lamp Lighter Inn! It's such a romantic place to go to! Wonderful to take your dog, too! The staff is so friendly and helpful! This was my 4th time there! We will be back again! Thanks to Peggy and Bobby for a memorable time!

Room Tip: Dolphin Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Owner at Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. A return guest is a great compliment in and of itself. We are thrilled that you choose us over so many choices. Again, thank you, Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    75
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
112
295
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Carmel where everything was lovely including the Lamplighter Inn and Sunset House! This place is steps away from the fabulous shops and restaurants and galleries, in addition to being just down the street from the gorgeous beach. All the staff was amazing and so friendly, I thought I was still in Texas! The rooms were beautifully decorated and the fireplace came in really handy (thanks Mia) every evening. Also in the evening we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese on the patio. The atmoshpere was fabulous for a girls weekend or for couples. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Peggy and Bobby keep up the great job!!! It was such a treat meeting you!

Room Tip: Bobby has good suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Spent the weekend at this great little spot in Carmel and all of my expectations were consistently exceeded. All the rooms are "theme based" and the property is the closest to the beach. The great vibe started right at check in and you know right away that Bobby, Melissa and everyone is glad to see you and are going to take great care of you. There is a wonderful breakfast provided and the hospitality room has wine and cheese in the late afternoon beckoning you to hang out with other hotel guests. It is no surprise that the LampLighter is rated #1 B&B and with the service, ambience and location they really set the standard for a great place to stay in Carmel!

Room Tip: Make your reservations early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We spent one night at Lamp Lighter on an "explore the California Coast" trip. Our travel mates were visiting from England and we wanted to stay in places with some personality. Lamp Lighter exceeded our expectations. It's close to Carmel Beach and Point Lobos Reserve (highly recommend) and several nice restaurants are are short walk away. We only wish we'd spent more than one night here.

Thanks to Bobby for the excellent directions to Cambria. Rt. 1 was closed (washed out) and the route through Carmel Valley was lovely. The breakfast basket items were much appreciated on the long trip.

Trina and Nick

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Owner at Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
That is so great that you took my advice. I thought you would like that Route, this time of year it is spectacular. And, point Lobos is always great. Thanks for staying with us, come back soon.
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Lamp Lighter Inn is just a few blocks from the gorgeous beach. It is right in the centre of Carmel which is a lovely place to stay for a couple of days with quirky shops and great restaurants. We enjoyed our stay at the Lamp Lighter Inn, our room was the cheapest and as such was quite small (Katydid) but it was fine for us. The breakfast basket delivered to our door every morning was a nice touch and the free wine tasting every evening was lovely and a good place to meet other guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Owner at Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for staying here at the Lamp Lighter Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the village and our Inn. Happy travels.
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Love this Place. Right smack in town, seconds from the beach (you can hear it) you can walk to everything! I love it for relaxing and romantic, for family and for meetings or groups. It's one of those really great Hotels that work for Everyone. Service is great and Owners Rock for sure! Thanks guys for spoiling us every time. It's appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Owner at Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you so much for using us as your goto Inn. I know the choices are many and we really apperciate you choosing us.
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Carmel has to be the cutest town that ever there was, and the Lamp Lighter has to be the cutest Inn. Every time we walk out the front someone's having a photo taken in front of the nautical themed courtyard, such is its quaint charm.

We had the Sea Star room and it was absolutely perfect. Modern and simple, but full of character and perfectly decorated. The room was at once cosy but perfectly spacious and luxurious, off it a lovely bathroom with cute pebble flooring and a generous bath. The main bedroom area features a big fireplace and two comfortable sitting chairs flanking the presumably complimentary whiskey and crystal. Great king bed and linen.

Great hospitality with plenty of advice on where to go round the area, and complimentary wine and cheese between 4-6pm in the communal breakfast/bar area.

The location's perfect, being on the main street rmoments from the beachfront and the main village.

Don't miss this gorgeous little town if you're travelling the Cali coast, and if you want to stay at the sort of place that puts a big grin on your face, book the Lamp Lighter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.