We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Basic Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Swiss Cafe

Little Swiss Cafe
6th Avenue And Dolores, Between Lincoln and Mission, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-5007
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Basic Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've lived in Switzerland, the only thing Swiss about this place is some decor touches in a few places, the menu is traditional american. I went on a weekday morning at 10:00am, and easily got a seat. I came prepared with plenty of cash, a paper to read, and my cell phone turned off (it was off but the waitress seemed to keep eyeing it anyway, ready to warn me they don't like cell phones used inside). The coffee was good, they brought real cream in a pitcher (a big plus), and I had the Spanish Omelette which was amazingly good, filled with a rich tomato flavered base of peppers (more Spain-ish than Mexican), with Hash Browns on the side. My bill was only $11.00, a great deal. I would go back again, especially during off-days when it's not crazy busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    49
    29
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for a reasonable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced lunch in Carmel, and happened on the Little Swiss Cafe. We were attracted by the menu and the cost was in-budget.

When we were seated by the mural, we were delighted with the humorous additions. The staff was uniformly friendly and attentive.

The split pea soup was among the best we've had anywhere. All our lunch entrees were excellent. This was our first visit, but we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Recommended to us by a local!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Yes, there was a short wait to be seated at the Little Swiss Cafe, but it was worth the wait. The service, cleanliness, decor and food were all excellent. I'm so glad that we made the stop here for breakfast. The Little Swiss Cafe is a delicious place to eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Waffles are to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were either going to Friar Tuck's or Em Le's or Katy's Place for our last meal at Carmel but then I decided to take the scenic route and we stumbled on Little Swiss Cafe. The wife reminded me that we had tried this place about 10 years back and she remembered it as being quite good, so we carted the kid in. First the place is small but cosy and the wait staff very friendly and efficient. The kid and I had waffles, eggs and sausages, and hash brown, the wife had French Toast and a side of fried potatoes and I decided to splurge by ordering real maple syrup. We did not wait long and I can tell you that the waffles are glorious, and the French Toast is no pushover either. I can't quite figure out how they make the waffles so super crispy without burning it, and still maintain that "fullness of taste" but I can tell you this: were this not our last day I would have eaten every breakfast here. The real maple syrup was worth every penny, served warm -- smooth and rich without being too sweet -- to make the waffles heavenly. I wanted to order another almost immediately but the wife pointed out that my gut was not doing me any favors in my old age and we had a long drive to San Francisco. So my craving for Little Swiss Cafe waffles will have to wait for at least until Summer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best eggs Benedict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been eating there for over 30 years and again I was marveled at their perfect eggs Benedict.
Since the original owners son took over the food stayed fantastic. The only thing that has changed is that it feels even more friendly and charming.
You won't be disappointed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swiss Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Little Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Swiss Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.