We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Swiss Cafe

Little Swiss Cafe
6th Avenue And Dolores, Between Lincoln and Mission, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-5007
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Petaluma, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cozy and small with delicious breakfasts. Be sure to have the pancakes. Excellent, quick service. Moderate prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are locals and were recommended by locals. I could have gone to Denny's, which i hate, and had the same food for half the cost. Everything is just plain, I ordered Huevos rancheros which was basically a plate with a scoop of canned refrained beans and shredded cheddar cheese, the kind that is so waxy it never melts, the tortillas sat plain and dry with my egg just sitting on top and all the sides were in small side dishes. I basically put together my own egg taco, not to mention over priced. I think it cost about $12. Then my husband ordered pancakes and a side of bacon, these were the thinnest pancakes any thinner and they could have been a crepe. He said they didn't even taste great. His side of bacon was three standard nothing special pieces of bacon cooked normal. We had water to drink and our bill was $23. Our server was barely friendly and didn't even remember which one of us ordered which meal and there were only two of us. The place is cramped, so cramped that if you use the restroom be careful you do not run into a server coming out of or going into the kitchen right next to the restroom door. We will never return, oh and they only except cash!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great food & great local breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

While in Carmel last weekend I went here every day for breakfast. There was a line every day at 8am. They are open for breakfast and lunch. My waitress Kathy was very friendly and the service was prompt. Great local place with alot of charm, friendly regulars and great food. I'll definitley go back during my next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumpton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Filling and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a great unpretentious place for a family lunch on a visit to Carmel. We all ate generous portions of well-presented tasty food and the kids enjoyed spotting the humorous details in the murals. The menu was classic cafe-diner fare and the waitress was helpful and friendly. We couldn't leave without trying one of the legendary cheese blintzes and were not disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food and service was excellent, wish we would have had more time to go again but with so many choices we had to try other places! We were very happy with the quality of food and service that we received! Hope to go again soon :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swiss Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Little Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Swiss Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.