We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohhh the cheese blinz!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Swiss Cafe

Little Swiss Cafe
6th Avenue And Dolores, Between Lincoln and Mission, Carmel, CA 93922
831-624-5007
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Houston
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ohhh the cheese blinz!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Like the pull-a-parts at Pastries and Petals, a must have breakfast item in Carmel. Gets crowded so be willing to get there early or wait. Don't miss the fun murals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Love this cafe. Hand painted murals
With lace curtains, and unforgettable
Pancakes and waffles. Locals patronize
This cafe with greetings from the Same
Servers for several years. Your coffee
Cup is never empty. We've only had
Breakfast. Bring cash...no credit cards.
Small but inviting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came here for breakfast while staining in Pacific Grove. The place really feels like a local establishment as most people looked to be locals. The breakfast was pretty standard in my opinion. Eggs, toast, etc. However the coffee kept flowing, they did a really good job of making sure that my cup was never empty. Notice: They do NOT accept credit cards.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel by the Sea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute ambiance. Plastic canned food. Dodgy service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My concierge friend said "uh uh. Not that place." I thought "there's always a line, it's super cute & in my hood...I'll test it for myself." 1 of those things, I'd rather have not had to experience 1st-hand.

Service= WOW harsh. server brought us the wrong food & took off while our fingers were in the air saying "but..." She came back 2 minutes later & took it to another table. Not a big deal. Then I watched as our food was taken to 2 other tables b4 she figured out it was ours...huh. But still, I don't really care as long as the food is good...DAMN. (PS there's worse, but I really don't want to relive it.)

Food= the server even told me (loudly) that the hash browns are out of a can...so were many components on the plate I decided to go with (no choice apparently). I had such a bad stomach ache afterwards too. I guess I have a different palette than most folks who rave about the hash, etc. Call me crazy, but I live in California bc of our access to amazing fresh local produce. Central Valley is 1 of the most fertile areas in the world, not to mention that it provides 60% of CA produce. I think most reviewers are confusing SPAM w/prosciutto. Understandable if you're not a foodie or if you grew up during wartime where SPAM was all the rage (I'm not dissing Hawaii). I might as well have stayed home & eaten my breakfast straight out of a can. It was really bad...the orange juice was good though & the busser was a master of keeping the coffee filled.

Cute ambiance, convenient location, but the worse "food" & service I've had in a long time...I'm still stunned by how bad it was. lol Yeah, as for the french toast...I'll stick to Em Lee's around the corner. I'm not even gonna talk about Little Swiss's french toast. How did they make it taste & feel like plastic?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Name!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a charming little breakfast & lunch place which delivers exactly what it promises. You can tell it is reliable because so many locals frequent the place. The staff is fairly cordial (remember, the name does say Swiss) and the service is prompt. The menu is pretty straight forward - no fancy stuff here. We were in the mood for grilled sandwiches and they came out looking and tasting just like they should with sides of potato salad & crunchy coleslaw. Pretty good value in a non-glamorous atmosphere (kind of non-Carmel in a way). BTW - no credit cards accepted.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swiss Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Little Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Swiss Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.