We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seventeen Mile Drive

Seventeen Mile Drive
Seventeen Mile Drive, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$200*
and up
Private Tour: Monterey Coastal Sights by Bike
Ranked #9 of 44 Activities in Carmel
Type: Scenic drives, Sights & Landmarks, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We drove this road and absolutely loved it. We pulled over almost everywhere there was a parking place. There were all kinds of things to do: Walk, watch surfers, watch seals and sea lions. We also saw sea otters and other wild life. What an amazing trip this is.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    268
    104
    28
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We rented bikes in Monterey and rode to Cypress Point. This does not have many hills and is a great way to take in the views along the coast. We were really glad we biked instead of just driving, it will always be a great memory. There is a restroom along the way and plenty of places to stop and take a break and photos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The coast is really beautiful, foggy or sunny! Watching people play golf with the waves hitting close by was amazing! Nature at its best. Beautiful scenery!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Incredible every time we drive it. Just too hard to explain other than breathtaking. The air smells heavingly and sites are hard to fathom

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulett
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful no gorgeous drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This drive was amazing for scenery takes most of the day but well worth it. Make sure to stop and see the elephant seals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventeen Mile Drive also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Seventeen Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventeen Mile Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.