We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seventeen Mile Drive

Seventeen Mile Drive
Seventeen Mile Drive, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 attractions in Carmel
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We drove this road and absolutely loved it. We pulled over almost everywhere there was a parking place. There were all kinds of things to do: Walk, watch surfers, watch seals and sea lions. We also saw sea otters and other wild life. What an amazing trip this is.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    221
    81
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We rented bikes in Monterey and rode to Cypress Point. This does not have many hills and is a great way to take in the views along the coast. We were really glad we biked instead of just driving, it will always be a great memory. There is a restroom along the way and plenty of places to stop and take a break and photos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The coast is really beautiful, foggy or sunny! Watching people play golf with the waves hitting close by was amazing! Nature at its best. Beautiful scenery!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Incredible every time we drive it. Just too hard to explain other than breathtaking. The air smells heavingly and sites are hard to fathom

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulett
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful no gorgeous drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This drive was amazing for scenery takes most of the day but well worth it. Make sure to stop and see the elephant seals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventeen Mile Drive also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Seventeen Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventeen Mile Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.