We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenic drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seventeen Mile Drive

Seventeen Mile Drive
Seventeen Mile Drive, Carmel, CA
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 30 attractions in Carmel
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we were taken by surprised by the polemical USD 10, my husband and I decided to do the drive on our way out of Carmel as it would be the perfect way to say goodbye to this beautiful region... And we were not disappointed! We enjoyed the drive, the very scenic beaches, the wildlife (we even saw some deer on the golf course!) and we were blessed with perfect weather (no fog!) We stopped a number of times for photographs and what we thought would be a 30-minute deal lasted about 2 hours, but this was time very well spent. Had we had one extra day in Carmel we would have ridden a bike instead of doing the drive. It certainly would have been an amazing experience too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    175
    67
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The 17-mile drive is a must for anyone travelling down from SF to Carmel/Monterey. The view is breath-taking and beyond words.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well I just loved this drive, it was incredible sights, the beach areas, the golf course, we got to see deer on the green at Pebble Beach, just like driving in a different world. Was definitely worth the trip going on this drive, weather was perfect, views were awesome!!!! Very nice, I would definitely do again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Coast ! Beautiful houses !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful sunny day to drive along California coast and see how the ultra wealthy live. Many beautiful places to stop and admire the Pacific Ocean and coastline !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBUQUERQUE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money on 17-mile drive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We saw that this road would take us from Carmel to our rental in Pacific Grove - we were not aware of the $9.75 fee until we reached the gate. Decided to pay this rather than go all the way back through Carmel and to the highway. Road signs very difficult to read (vertical instead of horizontal)- kept getting off the main road. Other than seeing Pebble Beach golf course area, there are ocean views equal of outstanding other places in the area - and no fee. Determined "fee" was for the privilege of viewing the "rich people's" houses. Certainly the people who live in that area can well afford to keep up a private road so this fee is just to keep people out. Don't bother with it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seventeen Mile Drive also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Seventeen Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventeen Mile Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.