We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuck Box

The Tuck Box
Dolores St., (between Ocean & 7th Ave.), Carmel, CA
831-624-6365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cute little place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We loved the look of this cute place in Carmel so went there for lunch. The service is attentive and the chef's special was very tasty so can definitely recommend a meal there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cute place, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate at an outside table. Service was great. Food was tasty. The side salad included with my sandwich included beets.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Small cottage, sat outside in the sun, lovely quaint and pretty surroundings. Staff were lovely, food was excellent, great vLue and not as frantic S some of the more well known venues for breakfast. Definitely recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This small restaurant that looks like a thatched roof hut is one of the most popular breakfast places in Carmel. Once you traverse the usual wait be sure to have one of their homemade scones- there is nothing like them in California - enjoy you'll appreciate the recommendation

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I went to Carmel on a mini getaway on Sunday January 26th. We were starving and the first thing we came across was the Tuck Box. I fell in love with the look of the building. It is an adorable Tudor cottage that reminds me of something out of Disneyland. I ordered the hot oats (7.50) and my husband ordered a cheese omelet (12). I also ordered hot chocolate and my husband ordered an orange juice. I was completely satisfied with my oatmeal although I would not pay 7.50 for it again. My husbands omelet was so small I was not even sure if I could get full off of it. It really was plain eggs and some cheese inside, with no seasoning. Sadly, my husband left feeling hungry even after spending $28 on a breakfast. We had to find him another cafe for him to get his fill. As we walked around we noticed some other places that looked to have better food with better prices. I would recommend this place for a snack with coffee, hot chocolate but not for a meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tuck Box also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Tuck Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuck Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.