We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally perfect place to stay in Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Lodge
Save
You added Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
San Bruno, California
1 review
“Totally perfect place to stay in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Forest Lodge and it was great from beginning to end. It's calm, peaceful, quaint and having your own little cabin in the middle of Carmel it couldn't be any better.
The place has a very personal touch and we just found out that some of the cabins are named after famous people that have stayed there, so they have "The Einstein cabin", "Dali suite" etc.

We even got a bottle of their Lamplighter wine as a gift when attending one of their complimentary wine evenings.
They also bring a basket of breakfast to your doorstep in the morning.
Perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I love sharing the history of the cottages with guests. I feel like it adds to the enchantment of the place. Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Belle, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lamp Lighter Inn was booked, but they had room at their sister ship, Forest Lodge. It looked just as nice online as Lamp Lighter Inn and was "in town" walking distance to shops and resturaurant. We stayed at the Garden Room with our 2 1/2 year old and it could not have been any more perfect! Peggy, one of the owners could not have been any more welcoming with children and pets. If I had my dog, I am not sure who would have liked her more, my 2 1/2 yr old son, me or my dog!!!! Peggy made balloons & played ball with my son daily.... We were only there for 2 nights and it could not have been any more perfect... Wine & cheese to breakie in the mornings down at Lamp Lighter was F.U.N. (fun).... my son could play with the toys and sonny (the house cat) without any worries. The fire pit was lovely and the guest we met were too..... Friendly, Friendly ,Friendly is the name of this place. They could not have made you feel any more welcome.......STAY STAY STAY is what I SAY!!! we will definitely be back....

Room Tip: I am sure any of there rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is adorable. We stayed in the Garrett Loft as the first stop on our honeymoon and we could not have picked a sweeter, more romantic inn in Carmel. Great location that's just far enough away from the crowds but literally a stone's throw from Ocean Avenue. The decor and finishing touches in the bathroom were wonderful. Only reason i can't give it 5 stars, is that the bed was really not very comfortable. It's on the hard but bouncy side. I guess I would say it felt a bit "cheap" compared to the rest of the room. The Garrett Loft is also a good private spot. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Garrett Loft is romantic and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Forest Lodge last week to celebrate our eleven year wedding anniversary. We loved every minute of our stay! Our cottage room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The attention to detail and service were above and beyond. The breakfast basket delivery to our door every morning was great. I'm a pretty big homebody so I'm generally ready to go home at the end of a vacation. I did not want to leave!! We're planning on making this our annual anniversary trip but I'm already planning another trip to take our kids. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Forest Lodge is a little farther away from the beach and a little more secluded and set back off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Hospitable, clean, light, roomy - good value. Just up the hill from all the shops - everything within walking distance. Relahtively quiet and out of the downtown bustle. Easily accessible to main road to Carmel Valley for wine tasting and to Monterey for whale watching. Will definitely return to stay with these properties.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 1st trip to the Forest Lodge inn, and we were amazed by the scenery and ambience of the quaint cottages that they had to offer. We stayed in the Garden room, with our 2 daughters, plenty of room for all. I am in a wheelchair, and they even went out of their way to make sure my chair fit in their cottage, unlike some hotels that don’t want to bother making any extra effort to make our stay comfortable. We were also surprised that they offered a complimentary decanter of Sherry, and provided an assortment of Cheeses and wines for an afternoon manager greetings at their sister location called the lamplighters Inn. Also, they delivered to our door each morning a basket of fruits, bagels and Muffins to start our day right! Such a short drive to point lobos from this lovely hotel, and a short walk to the beach and shops from your cottage door make this location the perfect place to stay and explore Carmel. I would highly recommend this location to anyone wanting to see all that Carmel has to offer, as you start on the edge of town at this hotel, and can easily see all the sites of Carmel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I have been here twice by ourselves, and then today we checked in with our 2 daughters and extended family. We have always received the "Winter Special" rates which is significantly lower than their listed price ($113 a night, down from $275). The first two times we stayed, we were treated wonderfully and respectfully, and breakfast baskets were delivered to our porch every morning. Every detail was always perfect. Robes in rooms, comfortable beds, wine and cheese reception. I have been telling every one about this place and was really excited for my extended family to come with us this trip (we booked 4 rooms out of their 5)....so we've pretty much taken over the place.

Well this time was a huge disappointment. We check in (mind you, this is only a few hours ago-I'm miffed enough to spend my vacation right now writing a review), and nearly the first thing the lady greets me with was "umm, you're in the Garret Loft right? how many are with you in there?" I said oh it's just my husband and my two girls and I". She says rudely "Yeah, well we have people staying below you and we just need you to be mindful of that while you're there". No "Welcome. Nice to have you back Mrs. Souza". Hilton remembers by name for goodness sake. All it takes is a quick glance at the screen/paper in front of you. I was a little put off, but oh well. Ready to move on.

My dad checks in. I give her my card and he gives her his. I ask about arranging a time for our breakfast to be delivered. Now this is our girls' first time in a bed and breakfast mind you. They have been DYING for this breakfast basket that I have told them about and think it's the coolest thing ever. So I ask her what time we can arrange. This is the conversation:

Receptionist: Oh we don't do that.
Me: You don't do breakfast baskets anymore?
Receptionist: Well, we do but just not for you guys (word.for.word)
Me: I don't understand.
Receptionist: Well, it's just that you guys have such a large party, it would be easier if you guys came down here (sister property down the road) and had breakfast here.
Me: Oh bummer, my girls have been looking forward to this, is there any way you could do it this time?
Receptionist: Well, it's just that we gave you guys a great rate, so we're not going to do the breakfast baskets for you. (real reason)
Me: (a little miffed). Oh ok. You know we've been given them before while we've had the same rate"
Receptionist: "yeah, well we're just not going to do that this time"
Dad: (stepping in) Let's go get some wine.

We head over to their wine and cheese reception hour (we made it in time). Wine was all gone. My husband had to ask for some more. We have a glass and head back up to our rooms to settle in.

We go to dinner (Village Corner, great place as always). And I'm still miffed. We drove 3.5 hours with two little girls looking forward to something (not big mind you, a simple breakfast basket) and for a returning guest you'd think they would have treated me a little better. Gone the extra mile. Not base the quality of their customer service on what kind of rate they gave me. That's me....I'm the queen of deals and I often get good ones. But that doesn't mean I should expect their service to deteriorate because of it. If that's the case, I will gladly (actually, no quite sadly) stay somewhere else. I don't want to. I love this place. It's the perfect location (we've stayed in dozens of places in Carmel). This is by far our favorite. But the way I was treated today has left a very sour taste in my mouth. I'm very very disappointed.

I called when we returned from dinner and expressed my disappointment. She again said "well it's just because you guys got such a low rate, we're just not going to do that". Then she said, "well, ok, we'll bring it to just your family in the Garret Loft". I actually kind of laughed. We'll treat some of you well and some of you not so well. Yes...let's make my 94 year old GRANDMOTHER who flew down from Oregon for this trip....let's make her walk all the way down the street for breakfast in the morning when she can hardly make it to the car. That's very kind.

I finally suggested that if they had the baskets ready, could my husband come down and pick them up and bring them back up the hill for the rest of my family. She reluctantly and quite rudely said, "yes we can do that".

I normally don't write reviews this fast (I mean, we literally just checked in a few hours ago) but I am so so disappointed with this place and the lack of service...all because they gave us a "good deal". Will probably not be returning here. Too bad, because we come to Carmel at least 3 times a year, and only found this place last year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.