We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Forest Lodge
Save Saved
You added Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are looking to get away and relax this is the place. My husband and I have stayed here for our wedding and then the past two years for our anniversary. The people (especially Melissa) who run both the Forest Lodge and the Lamplighter Inn are friendly and helpful. They dropped by an adorable basket for breakfast (yogurt, hard boiled eggs & fruit) each morning for breakfast. In the evenings we dropped by the complimentary wine and cheese happy hour at the Lamplighter Inn on our way to and from the beach to watch the sunset. I love the Garrett Loft because it is spacious, there is a nook that is perfect for reading or working and you feel like you are nestled in the tree tops. There is also a fireplace to add to the ambience. We have stayed in the Ocean Avenue room and we liked that too. The location is ideal as numerous restaurants, wine tasting and shopping are steps away and the beach is about a 15 minute walk. We didn't even get a car for this trip. In the past year the town has allowed more wine tasting rooms and if you like red wine we highly recommend Scheid Vineyards which is a few blocks away. If you are a happy hour person we also loved the rooftop at Vesuvio's (about a block away).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My fiance and I attended a friend's destination wedding in Carmel. We booked the Dali room and couldn't be happier. The room was clean, very well equipped, incredibly spacious, and the bathrooms were great. The spacious living room and fireplace was just what we needed after a long day hiking in Big Sur. In addition, the location was perfect, being a few steps away from great shopping and dining in Carmel. No complaints here, this was a great find and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Carmel has so many different options for lodging and when you are coming all the way across the country you worry you haven't found the right place to stay. There is no worry with Forest Lodge. It was so relaxing and quiet. The breakfast delivered to the room was great and it was fun to eat outside in the courtyard. Had a perfect stay in Carmel thanks to the staff at The Lamplighter (the sister B &B) and Forest Lodge. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but the online description is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool. Lancashire
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Dali Suite at Forest Lodge. The photographs on the web site are for the lamplighter inn so we were disappointed to find that the layout was totally different. Parking was a bit tight - but there was enough space for the number of rooms. The earlier you got back the better space you got. It was all uphill or downhill. Our rooms consisted of the downstaits of one of the cottages. French windows led into the main lounge which was large. There was a small kitchinette which comprised of a fridge, sink, microwave and a coffee maker. There was no cutlery - not even a single tea spoon. No plates or kitchen tools except for a broker corkscrew. Just as well we were organised and had our own. There was a complementary decanter of sherry which seemed oddly out of place. The sofa bed in the lounge was huge and so heavu that it needed quite some muscle power to open it. The bedroom contained a bed, TV and drawers and was adequate and this too had french windows leading on to a small veranda with a chair. Due to the hilly nature of the place the front door was Down steps and the back doo was up steps!!!!!!!!! The bathroom was large and well equipped. Our visit was spoiled by noisy tenants upstairs with noisy children who were up and about at the crack of dawn.. We did complain but we were simply told that they couldn't do anything about it. Complementary breakfast was offered at the Lamplighter Inn (or could be delivered if requested in advance) however the two premises were at opposite end of Carmel and so although we asked for breakfast to be delivered it was only done on one day - the other 2 days we didn't get anything. I would not stay here again and I certainy would recomend tyhat if you want to stay at the Dali suite then make sure it is not in school holidays. I am sure that the whole place would be much more pleasant then.

Room Tip: Don't go in school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

First, the staff are amazing!! They are so welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Ocean Avenue room for 4 days for our Carmel wedding. I LOVE this room. Beautiful. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels and English muffin. (the eggs are very fresh...which makes a hard boiled egg harder to crack, but not complaining. I prefer fresh!) we picked up a bonfire kit which they sell in the main office. We had a large group of people so they gave us plenty of extra chairs. I recommend getting the kit, the fire starter they have works wonders and they've already thought of everything. More about the room. Spacious, clean, very well decorated. The fire place works wonderfully. I love the bathroom. Only downside were the noisy drunken neighbors in the Garden room. But that happens anywhere. My husband finally started applauding and they shut up. It was kind of funny! There is a church across the street, so church bells on Sunday, which I love! (not so loud as to be unpleasant.) within walking distance of everything. A little trek to the beach, so wear good shoes. One of the BEST places to stay in Carmel. On check out, the staff asked us to stay at the Lamplighter property next time so that they could see us more on our next stay! (Forest Lodge property is away from the office site). They were seriously so nice and friendly. They have a wine and cheese hour as well, but we skipped it because we had so many wedding events. But next time we will check it out. Can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A perfect little personal cottage with stone fireplace within a block of Carmel shops and restaurants. Perfection. Breakfast is served around the fire pit at the sister hotel down the street - the owners / management were greeting their guests like they were old friends. Turns out - most were since they apparently have so many repeat customers. Truly a magical little oasis in an already heavenly hamlet.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms or cottages here - they are all unique and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We wanted to visit Carmel early for the Memorial Day weekend and we were very fortunate to find a very nice suite "The Dali" at Forest Lodge (a Lamplighter property). The reservationist Gabrielle was more than helpful with our reservation and greeted us with a warm and welcome smile when we arrived. She also provided us with a great place for dinner (Vesuvio...Italian excellent) and suggested several shops to visit. The suite has an oversized fireplace, wood floors and a sofa so comfy we both took a nap on when we arrived.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms in on this property is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.