We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Forest Lodge
Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A perfect little personal cottage with stone fireplace within a block of Carmel shops and restaurants. Perfection. Breakfast is served around the fire pit at the sister hotel down the street - the owners / management were greeting their guests like they were old friends. Turns out - most were since they apparently have so many repeat customers. Truly a magical little oasis in an already heavenly hamlet.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms or cottages here - they are all unique and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We wanted to visit Carmel early for the Memorial Day weekend and we were very fortunate to find a very nice suite "The Dali" at Forest Lodge (a Lamplighter property). The reservationist Gabrielle was more than helpful with our reservation and greeted us with a warm and welcome smile when we arrived. She also provided us with a great place for dinner (Vesuvio...Italian excellent) and suggested several shops to visit. The suite has an oversized fireplace, wood floors and a sofa so comfy we both took a nap on when we arrived.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms in on this property is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We initially booked a stay at Lamp Lighter but were upgraded for our anniversary to Forest Lodge with a larger and more private room. The room was very nice and well appointed and we enjoyed the fireplace. The bathroom was large and there was another twin bed off to a side in case it is needed. Breakfast was delivered in the morning and was much better tasting for a continental breakfast than I've had at other places. We really enjoyed our stay and that staff was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My family( which consists of my husband, myself and our 14y/o Golden Retriever) stayed at this cute property during a business trip/mini getaway late march. We had the Garret loft which we absolutely loved. The room was charming and quite big. It was tastefully decorated and new remodeled in a shabby chic/french country style. The beautiful bathroom was huge with a nice big soaking tub. The king bed was comfy! It is in a great location at the beginning of town... A bit of a walk to the beach (we drove, but only because our senior dog needed to conserve energy for ball chasing at the beach)!!!! The owners were lovely people and even gave our dog a toy as a souvenir :) ! We will definitely return and tell our friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I took my mother to Carmel and we absolutely loved this lodge. The location was wonderful, everyone was really nice when we grabbed breakfast at the Lamplighter and we were able to take advantage of the generous offer to go whale watching since we stayed for three nights. The room was very clean and lovely. The owners provided Sherry, fresh water and extra pillows. The bathroom is very large and wonderful. This is the perfect room to stay in for 3-4 people because there is complete privacy between the room and living room with the pullout sofa. There are also separate doors from each room into the bathroom, which is great!

The only complaints that we would have is that the beds are a bit uncomfortable... We woke up sore but the best thing about Carmel is that you can walk it off before having a fantastic dinner.

Room Tip: There is noise upstairs from the fan and people walking around so it may be difficult to sleep somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just awesome. Beautiful rooms and comfy beds. I've stayed in 5 star resorts not as much fun as this one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Forest lodge which is a few blocks from Lamp Lighter but run by the same people. The room we stayed in was clean except for when we opened the drawers of the side table. There were a whole bunch of crumbled up paper in them that was left behind from previous guests. Also the single bed had sheets with some type of black stains on it. We stayed there in February and the room was cold at night and the heater did not help at all. The breakfast was nothing to get excited about. The coffee was probably the worst I've ever had and the breakfast did not have many options to choose from and thats why we didn't even bother eating there the next day. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere of the Inn is wonderful. The Garrett room where we stayed at is very charming and I loved the decor, i just wish it had more storage and closet space. Also the little room that has the single bed in it gets very cold at night. My daughter ended up sleeping in our bed because she was just too cold.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.