We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, friendly restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grill On Ocean Avenue

Grill On Ocean Avenue
Ocean Avenue, Between Dolores & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 2569
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 125 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Uk
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good, friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went for dinner. Excellent, friendly and efficient service and made to feel very welcome. I had artichoke, beautifully presented and also steak, which was delicious and cooked to perfection. Quirky feature is the box of crayons on the table to encourage you to doodle on the tablecloth, which everyone seemed to be doing. It certainly made us remember the restaurant. We would certainly visit this restaurant again given the chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    95
    25
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surprised by friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped here for a lunch expecting a tourist type of reception, but found a friendly place with good food and good service. The also own other properties in Carmen and give you discount coupons for those.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A popular restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ordered two different dishes upon recommendation of our waitress. Both were good, but (to us) a little over immersed in olive oil. My personal preference is a drier offering, however the restaurant seems to have a large attendance hence I'm likely in the minority of those who don't care for the extra toppings.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Personable service with outstanding food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My dinner at The Grill was truly an outstanding dining experience. Located conveniently on Ocean Ave in Carmel, The Grill's atmosphere and service was top class and the chef-prepared food was presented in a picture-perfect display that invited me to savor every bite. My scallops and prawns were prepared absolutely deliciously! I strongly recommend The Grill for a wonderful evening of dining. Quaint. Friendly. Great service. A Carmel treasure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was in a party of 4 and we all ordered the "special" for $24.95 which was avail between 5-6:30pm. it included bruschetta bread, fresh warm bread, a choice soup or salad, quite a few main dishes to choose from, and dessert! (great lamb chops) We all loved our meals, the restaurant was beautiful, and the service was amazing. We hardly put our forks down and bus boy was right there to clean things up and fill our water glasses. Our waitress was wonderful too. So friendly and accommodating. We all highly recommend The Grill!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill On Ocean Avenue also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Grill On Ocean Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill On Ocean Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.