We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grill On Ocean Avenue

Grill On Ocean Avenue
Ocean Avenue, Between Dolores & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 2569
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We called in here because the well reviewed Cantinetta Luca was full.

In the event we enjoyed more that Cantinetta Luca the next evening. Like all restaurants in Carmel it isn't cheap, but we generally enjoyed what we ate, though our son thought the orange sauce on his duck ravioli was overpowering.

You could do far worse in Carmel!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Carmel restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a great find, and we specifically went looking for it after not having a chance four years ago to fit it in our schedule. Hands down, our best meal in Carmel ever! We had the filet and also the Chef's seafood special. The filet was cooked perfectly and truly melted in my mouth. Hubby's linguini with salmon, shrimp, clams, etc all in a garlic butter sauce was delicious. He asked for it to be made without peppers and they easily accommodated him as "each order is cooked to order". Service was excellent, a lot of support wait staff. Dessert was worth the extra mile we need to walk tomorrow, both the Creme brûlée and chocolate mousse cake lived up to their billing. Note- they have a five course early bird special ( have to be there by six ) that our neighbors had and it loomed fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“In addition, great regional wine selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a very good dinner, with fine food (steacks are real good, sworfish OK although potato mash a bit salty and fish sauce a bit too much contrasted in the sweet & sour perspective) . Besides, a very animated place where to be

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Early Bird Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

we had a 6 pm reservation, but when we happened to stroll by in the afternoon we noticed that that had a Sunset special if you were seated by 6, so we changed our reservation for 5:45. We had a 4 course meal for the price of the entrée. We both had the sand dabs which were delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a nice place but the food was just ok. I gave it a lower rating because for the price they charge, the food should be much better. I would say skip it and find another place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill On Ocean Avenue also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Grill On Ocean Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill On Ocean Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.