We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a family dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
On 6th Between San Carlos & Dolores, Carmel 93921, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small, lively restaurant in the heart of Carmel. Interesting menu with a lot of options, sure to please almost anyone. Scampi with risotto was amazing, the calamari steak was very good, the scallops with white beans was an unexpected (but delicious) combination. Wine prices reasonable, atmosphere pleasant and lively, service was very good. Will definitely return

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm happy to hear you thought the scampi with risotto was amazing! It's our goal to create delicious dishes composed with unique and surprising combinations of ingredients. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    196
    81
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My sister and I came in for lunch and ended up having a couple appetizers to start off with. My entree consisted of the Po'Boy Shrimp sandwich and my sister had the Tuna Melt with the lobster bisque which is to die for. I had to grab a couple bites of that too. Was told by the server it has been award winning. We wanted to go for a dessert but since we were so full with all that food we opted to come back and enjoy one next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for having lunch with us the other day! I'm happy to know you and your sister had a fantastic experience. We put a lot of love into our cooking, using the freshest seafood available. Hope you get a chance to try our desserts sometime soon!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch or dinner when checking out downtown carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Once again I had a restaurant.com coupon so we hit this place for dinner, we got lucky and just beat the crowd and it was a Wed. night, so I would recommend a reservation. The oyster bar is beside the actual restaurant and is a little lower key. Right in the middle of town and parking was not too hard to find nearby. The selection of oysters was pretty amazing. We sat at the bar and the service was prompt and courteous. For Carmel, prices were reasonable even without the coupon. We liked just driving around the ocean front street in Carmel before dinner and watching the sunset and checking out all the unique houses. Probably one of the more aesthetically pleasing coastal towns I have seen on the west coast. Wish I would have eaten here more than once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks so much for recommending us! We take pride in our fresh, high quality oysters. The next time you're in Carmel, be sure to visit!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crowded but so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Walking around the streets of Carmel we came across this place, it was crowded but we were able to get in right away. It's tight quarters but no big deal. I had a scallops & risotto dish that was by far the best meal I had during 8 days in CA. I should have eaten there the next night too instead of going to Hog's Breath Inn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks Lisa! I'm honored to know our scallops and risotto was the best meal during your visit. It was a pleasure serving you, and I hope you get a chance to visit again soon.

Take care,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
1 review
“Personal, Pleasant & Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Flaherty's is top notch in service and food. Working as a team to ensure I have a pleasant experience everytime I visit, Ken and his staff are all personal and professional.

As for the food, I keep coming back!!!

From savory to sweet to spicy (not necessarily hot), there is a blend of authentic cuisine and "wholesome cooking" combined with fine presentation of all the dishes.

Fresh fish, fine wine and a variety of micro brews followed up by all housemade desserts make for an amazing experience!

Another nice aspect I enjoy about Flaherty's is that I can dress business casual or in shorts and flip flops, depending on whether I want to eat in the "pub side" or the "fine dining side".

Make reservations if you're going with a party...the afternoons and evenings I have visted (usually weekend days) have always been packed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation. I'm delighted to hear you think we're the perfect blend of fine dining and wholesome, home-cooked food. I'll be sure to let the rest of the team know you appreciate their warm and welcoming service. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

All the best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.