We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
On 6th Between San Carlos & Dolores, Carmel 93921, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our 3rd time visiting Flaherty's and while our first couple of meals in 2005 and 2007 were spectacular, sadly, food quality and value have gone wayyyy downhill. The seafood paella was mushy, as if it had been warmed up from a couple days earlier. The seafood grill was grossly overpriced and the smallest serving imaginable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    181
    78
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Excellent Dining Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend were on vacation and stopped by for lunch, i had the fish curry and she had the fish and chips, and both were very satisfying. The bar tender was kind enough to make me a virgin Mojito, that was very refreshing. The atmosphere was upbeat and cheerful and hope to return there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
MillyLucille,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I'm so happy you had a great time with us, and hope you enjoyed your vacation. I'll share these compliments with the team, and we'd love to have you again the next time you're in town!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great staff, good food, very dog-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm surprised by the all the negative reviews because our experience at Flaherty's was rather positive.

We made a reservation on OpenTable.com for a table outside with our dog. The hostess greeted us immediately when she saw us and took us to our table. She had a fresh bowl of water and treats on hand for our pup too! Overall, the staff was kind and attentive and the ambiance was casual and comfortable.

The food was good. Nothing to write home about, but no complaints either. The Bloody Mary is spicy and strong; the clam chowder is different but tasty; and the seafood carbonara pasta is delicious and very filling.

Bonus -- If you eat at any sister restaurants like Village Corner, Portabella, or Anton and Michel's, you get a 15% off coupon to use next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review! It was our pleasure to host you and your pup, and I'm happy you enjoyed yourselves. I'll share this with the whole team. Feel free to stop by anytime!

Best,
Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Terrible seating arrangements (required to sit with strangers), poor service, cranky waitress (when you could find her!), loud, expensive, small portions...need I say more

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
This is certainly not the experience we set out to create for our customers, Barrie. We're surprised to hear you felt like you were treated to poor service. We love our wait staff team and they often go above and beyond for our customers. We do have about 50 private seats in our restaurant along with a one long family table which we set up dividers for to divide up the parties. Generally, people are comfortable sitting in this type of setting.


Best,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the B&B. We had reservations but were still placed back by the kitchen. Our server was not familiar with the menu - didn't even tell us the specials. The fish and chips had more fried batter than fish. In the middle of summer they served winter root vegetables. The atmosphere was ok and it seemed clean, but the experience was overall disappointing. With so many other choices in the area we will not go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.