We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
On 6th Between San Carlos & Dolores, Carmel 93921, Carmel, CA 93923
831 625 1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: At Flaherty's...Fish is Everything! We know good seafood, we know how to buy it and we know how to prepare it. Unlike most restaurants (even the best of them) where fish is often a secondary item on the menu...at Flaherty's it's all about seafood. Here, you will experience a small town, comfortable, family atmosphere, where quality ingredients and quality preparation come together with quality service. We also include gluten free items in our menu to provide all of our customers with the best service possible. It's who we are...come and experience seafood like it was meant to be.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Terrible seating arrangements (required to sit with strangers), poor service, cranky waitress (when you could find her!), loud, expensive, small portions...need I say more

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
This is certainly not the experience we set out to create for our customers, Barrie. We're surprised to hear you felt like you were treated to poor service. We love our wait staff team and they often go above and beyond for our customers. We do have about 50 private seats in our restaurant along with a one long family table which we set up dividers for to divide up the parties. Generally, people are comfortable sitting in this type of setting.


Best,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the B&B. We had reservations but were still placed back by the kitchen. Our server was not familiar with the menu - didn't even tell us the specials. The fish and chips had more fried batter than fish. In the middle of summer they served winter root vegetables. The atmosphere was ok and it seemed clean, but the experience was overall disappointing. With so many other choices in the area we will not go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mauibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food; but, NOISY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have enjoyed lunch many times at Flaherty's. This was the first time in the main dining room. The seafood was fresh and delicious; but, due to hard floors, crowed tables; and, large groups it was too noisy to enjoy. Stick to lunch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Back to one of our old favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Back again for my favorite Cioppino. As East Coast residents we look forward to our annual visit with our son and his wife who live in San Jose. That's also an excuse for me to get to wine country and as my wife loves Carmel an excuse for us to spend time there too. Flaherty's is easily one of my top 2 seafood places in places in CA, the other being Las Brisas in Laguna Beach. But Flaherty's is special - a small and intimate place, one room for lunch and another across the way for dinner. Great service at both with always great sourdough bread and an excellent Monterey winelist. If in for lunch the 2 clam chowders are excellent if I'm not getting Cioppino. Don't miss the artichoke. If not getting the Cioppino the fresh catches are always excellent, my wife's usual favorite is the Sand Dabs. Flaherty's was the first place I knew to have a seafood sustainability program when they educated us - it was at least a decade ago, a practice which they adhere to today so hopefully our grandkids can enjoy some of the same.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It's been a true joy to welcome you both into our restaurant over the years, George. Thank you for taking the time to speak about your many meals with us and the Cioppino that always keeps you coming back for more. We can't wait to welcome you and your wife in again soon and be sure to remind us of your review during your next meal! I'd love to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Crab Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at this place, which came recommended, so we had to try it ourselves. My wife ordered a bay shrimp sandwich and I decided for a Crab Carbonara Pasta. That sounds heavy but really isn't. The pasta comes in a nice tomato cream sauce and there was lots of crab. Highly recommended. The sandwich was OK, go for the crab.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paraplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteurCarmel, Owner at Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Happy to hear the Crab Carbonara Pasta really impressed, Paraplu! We'd love to welcome you back for another plate the next time you find yourself in Carmel.

Best,

Kenneth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flaherty's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing