We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Monterey Peninsula” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Monterey Peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love this place. Minimal wait, hole in the wall that no one knows about. Tired of french and american food, as a vegetarian it can get very repetitive.. all the rich food with very few choices. I love chinese food when its done right, my wife is american chinese and wont have bad chinese food (she eats meat). This place is very authentic, however it also does cater to vegetarians. A combination thats only common on the west coast.

We ordered veggie dumplings, wonton soup, fried rice, schezuan bean curd, fish.. and it was all cooked to perfection!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hidden between buildings and behind an ATM is this little gem. Friendly staff and good fresh food. Nice menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Chinese Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Small restaurant tucked away in Carmel-by-the-Sea, but it's the best Chinese food we've ever had. All the items were fresh with nice portions, and our family of five ate every last bite. If we had had more time on our trip, we would have returned. We did make a reservation during a very busy week, and our table was waiting for us when we arrived. Excellent food and value!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
243 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The menu big enough considering the size of the place. They have soft drinks and tea but we all stuck to water and sipped on that. I think there is one restroom in this town, a few streets over to a shopping complex and then 3 floors up. Some sort of ordinance. Service was very slow. I did enjoy my prawns and the soup but the rest of the meal was equal to the buffets at home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
238 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Recently spent a couple nights in Carmel, CA with the family on a summer trip up the coast. The old Chinese restaurant that we used to frequent on our last couple of visits had closed so we tried the new place, called Tommy's Wok. Honestly was expecting average Chinese food, but we were all pleasantly surprised that this was a top notch Chinese meal. The eggplant was to die for, cooked to perfection with just the right consistency and a slight crunchiness to it. Decided to try the lemon chicken which was extremely moist and not over fried. Finally, gave the mongolian lamb a try, having had mongolian beef the last few Chinese meals and tired of cheap meat that is hard to chew. The lamb was extremely tender and delicious. We all left the restaurant wishing they had a Tommy's Wok in our home town of Atlanta. The restaurant is small so make reservations well in advance. If you're looking to take a break from the fancy fare in Carmel and enjoy a top quality Chinese food that won't break the bank, give Tommy's Wok a try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.