We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hole in the wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 125 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hidden between buildings and behind an ATM is this little gem. Friendly staff and good fresh food. Nice menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    53
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Awesome Chinese Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Small restaurant tucked away in Carmel-by-the-Sea, but it's the best Chinese food we've ever had. All the items were fresh with nice portions, and our family of five ate every last bite. If we had had more time on our trip, we would have returned. We did make a reservation during a very busy week, and our table was waiting for us when we arrived. Excellent food and value!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The menu big enough considering the size of the place. They have soft drinks and tea but we all stuck to water and sipped on that. I think there is one restroom in this town, a few streets over to a shopping complex and then 3 floors up. Some sort of ordinance. Service was very slow. I did enjoy my prawns and the soup but the rest of the meal was equal to the buffets at home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Recently spent a couple nights in Carmel, CA with the family on a summer trip up the coast. The old Chinese restaurant that we used to frequent on our last couple of visits had closed so we tried the new place, called Tommy's Wok. Honestly was expecting average Chinese food, but we were all pleasantly surprised that this was a top notch Chinese meal. The eggplant was to die for, cooked to perfection with just the right consistency and a slight crunchiness to it. Decided to try the lemon chicken which was extremely moist and not over fried. Finally, gave the mongolian lamb a try, having had mongolian beef the last few Chinese meals and tired of cheap meat that is hard to chew. The lamb was extremely tender and delicious. We all left the restaurant wishing they had a Tommy's Wok in our home town of Atlanta. The restaurant is small so make reservations well in advance. If you're looking to take a break from the fancy fare in Carmel and enjoy a top quality Chinese food that won't break the bank, give Tommy's Wok a try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Casual spot for a quick meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stopped in for lunch and got plenty of food at a great price. A good place to stop for a quick, super casual meal.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.