We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portion and great price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Carmel Valley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Huge portion and great price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This restaurant is a small hidden treasure. Very casual atmosphere, fast service.I like to go there for lunch as prices are great (especially for Carmel). Portions are so big that usually two people can share or you take it home to finish. I tried their appetizers and lunch specials. Never had a bad meal. Take a look and enjoy your food! I am going back for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very Good but Take Out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Cramped and crowded, we chose to take out. We ordered far too much. It was really lovely and we would not hesitate to try it again if we visit beautiful Carmel in the future. The Singapore Noodles were particularly good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get it to go!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Got take out from this place on a two night stay in Carmel just for a change to going out for the night! The place is really cramped and isn't very appealing to look at! It was so chaotic when I went in.... Then a local lady informed me it didn't seem to be the usual staff on. Waited about 25 mins for food which is acceptable in a place that was full to capacity and seemed to have a lot of take out orders on the go also. Got two starters and two mains for under $50 so for Carmel that was reasonable. Food wasn't exceptional but it was tasty and plentiful which was all that was needed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best eggplant I've ever had! Hot and sour soup was really good too. Place is very small and kind of a hole in the wall, but don't let that scare you away. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Never a disappointment. Good to eat in or even better to take out!! Always fun to learn of different dishes to try besides the tried and true.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.