We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Never a disappointment. Good to eat in or even better to take out!! Always fun to learn of different dishes to try besides the tried and true.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get It To Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We lived in Carmel for most of a year in 2006 and got Tommy's several times. So on a visit last week, we decided to get food to go and return to our hotel for a late dinner. Although we've eaten there, the place is really cramped. Also, their to go service is really exceptional. as you wait outside, you can see them preparing your food.

The quality is fresh and good tasting. It's a big menu too. Nothing exceptional compared to San Francisco but it fills a void in Carmel and the Peninsula in general for quality Asian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“food fine, cramped restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

the waiter serving us was spot on, polite, professional and not at all pushy but happy to help with the menu. food was fine too, i'm marking it down as the restaurant itself was very cramped, there were a lot of "tables for two" in while we were there and the tables were less than an inch apart, for some people i appreciate this will be part of the places charm but it's not to my taste!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, slow, but well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We tried to order food to go over the phone on Labor Day weekend but no one answered and we thought they might be closed for the holiday, nope just crowded. The restaurant is tiny and some knuckleheads thought it would be a good idea to bring their group of 17 to the small restaurant. It took over an hour to receive our to go order but it was awesome. The Singapore Noodles green bean chicken were amazing.

I highly recommend it, but be considerate and don't bring your posse as the small dining area and kitchen can't handle the volume.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food I crave once I'm back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Chinese food. The best eggplant dish ever! Evil Prince Shrimp anyone? We order it to eat there and we get an extra order to take home for the next day! Not a large restaurant but a great authentic one. We are always happy with everything we get. This place is back in a little cubby and it's definitely worth finding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.