We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get It To Go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Venice
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get It To Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We lived in Carmel for most of a year in 2006 and got Tommy's several times. So on a visit last week, we decided to get food to go and return to our hotel for a late dinner. Although we've eaten there, the place is really cramped. Also, their to go service is really exceptional. as you wait outside, you can see them preparing your food.

The quality is fresh and good tasting. It's a big menu too. Nothing exceptional compared to San Francisco but it fills a void in Carmel and the Peninsula in general for quality Asian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    72
    43
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“food fine, cramped restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

the waiter serving us was spot on, polite, professional and not at all pushy but happy to help with the menu. food was fine too, i'm marking it down as the restaurant itself was very cramped, there were a lot of "tables for two" in while we were there and the tables were less than an inch apart, for some people i appreciate this will be part of the places charm but it's not to my taste!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small, slow, but well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We tried to order food to go over the phone on Labor Day weekend but no one answered and we thought they might be closed for the holiday, nope just crowded. The restaurant is tiny and some knuckleheads thought it would be a good idea to bring their group of 17 to the small restaurant. It took over an hour to receive our to go order but it was awesome. The Singapore Noodles green bean chicken were amazing.

I highly recommend it, but be considerate and don't bring your posse as the small dining area and kitchen can't handle the volume.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food I crave once I'm back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Chinese food. The best eggplant dish ever! Evil Prince Shrimp anyone? We order it to eat there and we get an extra order to take home for the next day! Not a large restaurant but a great authentic one. We are always happy with everything we get. This place is back in a little cubby and it's definitely worth finding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Not Pet Friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to Carmel since it was rated as one of the most pet friendly cities..our hotel was wonderful. When researching
restaurants which are pet friendly. Tommy's Wok was one on the list..however when we arrived with our two lil poodles they said they could set us up with a table outside at the back door along with the trash and parking lot to Wells Fargo...needless to say we did not eat there nor will we recommend it to our friends.If you are not "REAL" pet friendly..then do not advertise that you are.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.