We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food fine, cramped restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“food fine, cramped restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

the waiter serving us was spot on, polite, professional and not at all pushy but happy to help with the menu. food was fine too, i'm marking it down as the restaurant itself was very cramped, there were a lot of "tables for two" in while we were there and the tables were less than an inch apart, for some people i appreciate this will be part of the places charm but it's not to my taste!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    47
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small, slow, but well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We tried to order food to go over the phone on Labor Day weekend but no one answered and we thought they might be closed for the holiday, nope just crowded. The restaurant is tiny and some knuckleheads thought it would be a good idea to bring their group of 17 to the small restaurant. It took over an hour to receive our to go order but it was awesome. The Singapore Noodles green bean chicken were amazing.

I highly recommend it, but be considerate and don't bring your posse as the small dining area and kitchen can't handle the volume.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food I crave once I'm back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Chinese food. The best eggplant dish ever! Evil Prince Shrimp anyone? We order it to eat there and we get an extra order to take home for the next day! Not a large restaurant but a great authentic one. We are always happy with everything we get. This place is back in a little cubby and it's definitely worth finding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Not Pet Friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to Carmel since it was rated as one of the most pet friendly cities..our hotel was wonderful. When researching
restaurants which are pet friendly. Tommy's Wok was one on the list..however when we arrived with our two lil poodles they said they could set us up with a table outside at the back door along with the trash and parking lot to Wells Fargo...needless to say we did not eat there nor will we recommend it to our friends.If you are not "REAL" pet friendly..then do not advertise that you are.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Less than sanitary conditions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have eaten at Tommy's Wok many times but we have never gone to the back door for carry-out. It was a real "eye opener". Swarms of flies hovered by the open door to the kitchen. Food littered the floor of this tiny kitchen. Another door off the patio revealed a woman sitting on a stool paring vegetables in less than sanitary conditions. Later in the evening one of our guests had to leave a theater performance because of "montezuma's revenge". Beware!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.