We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Finding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth Finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

By searching on this website, we found Tommy's Wok! This restaurant is hidden down a small side street near the Wells Fargo bank. It is busy but we put our name down at the door and only had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. The food was brilliant and portions on the generous side. My daughter ordered sweet and sour chicken Hong Kong style and declared it the best she has ever eaten. We ordered two bowls of soup for starters and they easily fed 4 of us. We had a lovely waiter and couldn't fault the service. Highly recommended but be prepared to wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“One of the best chinese meals I have had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You may have to wait to get into this small eatery, but, its well worth it. First a note to people from the UK, Normaly at a chinese you would order a starter, a main and a side portion of rice.
Dont do that here!
We were left with more than half of our food left over.
One of the biggest crimes I have ever commited was leaving half a plate of the most perfect butterflied prawns I have had in a long time.
I still feel sad thinking about it just now!
The special fried rice plates we ordered up as a side like wise was just too much.

I cannot recomend this place highly enough.
Inexpensive, good quality, well tasty (super tasty for my american cousins), Wish I could go there tonight

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This places tucked away down a small court but worth finding.

We were a group of 7 and started with 2 big bowls of soup which was very tasty. The princess prawns are amazing and the rice and chow mein are nice too.

Not so sure about the duck dish but that was personal choice.

It is only a small place so get in early unless you don't mind a wait.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in Carmel and found this restaurant through Yelp, I think. Not far off the main street, this small Chinese restaurant served up some excellent food. We had the sizzling rice soup- delicious and light, and the crispy Hunan fish. Not sure exactly what the latter dish was called on the menu but it was lightly fried pieces of fresh fish in a Hunan sauce. We all loved it. We had a short wait to get a table but the staff was very nice. The cost was very reasonable too, not what we expected to pay for dinner in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Come early or be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here for an early dinner and loved the delicious food and ultra quick service. A few minutes after we sat down there were lots of people waiting for tables (they don't take reservations).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.