We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Finding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth Finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

By searching on this website, we found Tommy's Wok! This restaurant is hidden down a small side street near the Wells Fargo bank. It is busy but we put our name down at the door and only had to wait about 20 minutes for a table. The food was brilliant and portions on the generous side. My daughter ordered sweet and sour chicken Hong Kong style and declared it the best she has ever eaten. We ordered two bowls of soup for starters and they easily fed 4 of us. We had a lovely waiter and couldn't fault the service. Highly recommended but be prepared to wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    72
    43
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“One of the best chinese meals I have had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You may have to wait to get into this small eatery, but, its well worth it. First a note to people from the UK, Normaly at a chinese you would order a starter, a main and a side portion of rice.
Dont do that here!
We were left with more than half of our food left over.
One of the biggest crimes I have ever commited was leaving half a plate of the most perfect butterflied prawns I have had in a long time.
I still feel sad thinking about it just now!
The special fried rice plates we ordered up as a side like wise was just too much.

I cannot recomend this place highly enough.
Inexpensive, good quality, well tasty (super tasty for my american cousins), Wish I could go there tonight

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This places tucked away down a small court but worth finding.

We were a group of 7 and started with 2 big bowls of soup which was very tasty. The princess prawns are amazing and the rice and chow mein are nice too.

Not so sure about the duck dish but that was personal choice.

It is only a small place so get in early unless you don't mind a wait.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in Carmel and found this restaurant through Yelp, I think. Not far off the main street, this small Chinese restaurant served up some excellent food. We had the sizzling rice soup- delicious and light, and the crispy Hunan fish. Not sure exactly what the latter dish was called on the menu but it was lightly fried pieces of fresh fish in a Hunan sauce. We all loved it. We had a short wait to get a table but the staff was very nice. The cost was very reasonable too, not what we expected to pay for dinner in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Come early or be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here for an early dinner and loved the delicious food and ultra quick service. A few minutes after we sat down there were lots of people waiting for tables (they don't take reservations).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.