We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Finding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Wok

Tommy's Wok
Mission Street, (between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 125 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This places tucked away down a small court but worth finding.

We were a group of 7 and started with 2 big bowls of soup which was very tasty. The princess prawns are amazing and the rice and chow mein are nice too.

Not so sure about the duck dish but that was personal choice.

It is only a small place so get in early unless you don't mind a wait.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    54
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in Carmel and found this restaurant through Yelp, I think. Not far off the main street, this small Chinese restaurant served up some excellent food. We had the sizzling rice soup- delicious and light, and the crispy Hunan fish. Not sure exactly what the latter dish was called on the menu but it was lightly fried pieces of fresh fish in a Hunan sauce. We all loved it. We had a short wait to get a table but the staff was very nice. The cost was very reasonable too, not what we expected to pay for dinner in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Come early or be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here for an early dinner and loved the delicious food and ultra quick service. A few minutes after we sat down there were lots of people waiting for tables (they don't take reservations).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not bad for take out Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the egg rolls (yummy!) potstickers (good but a bit doughy on the inside) Mongolian beef & basil chicken to go. The food was fresh and the sauces were outstanding.

Lots of veggies in the basil chicken & good flavor. Hubby liked the Mongolian beef but it came back to visit him the next day with a bit of tummy trouble but that could be due to the fact he asked for it very spicy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in Carmel after going to Point Sur Lighthouse and were starved. We parked on the street and walked around a bit before seeing the restaurant. It was delicious! We both like spicy food, so I got the lunch portion of Orange Chicken and he got the lunch portion of Kung Pao Chicken--came with fried rice, lo mein noodles, and the chicken. The Orange Chicken was delicious!! Much more flavorful than the Kung Pao. It is so good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Wok also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tommy's Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.