We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Cantina & Grill

Baja Cantina & Grill
7166 Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel, CA 93923-9525
831-625-2252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Baja Cantina & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Valley Greens Drive
Transit: Monterey-Salinas Transit stops at Valley Hills Center.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We took a very large group to the Cantina on one of their really busy nights. Car week is ending and many racers and car guys love to go and share car stories. We were seated promptly - get reservations and served promptly. Quite a feat on a night as busy as this. This time we were inside but there is also a delightful heated patio. The owner raced cars and has collected auto memorabilia. AND the margaritas are good as is the food. A great place to hang out with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    53
    41
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tex Mex food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

You have got to try the Cochinita Pork, it's the bomb! You get this finely shredded pork that's been slow cooked in this deep brown sauce that's made from citrus and I'm not sure but it tasted like there was cinnamon in there too. It comes on a flour tortilla with cheese and then it was grilled to perfection. It was one of the best things I've put in my mouth in a long time! My wife had the Grilled chicken quesadilla, it was also very good (but not as good as the pork). I highly recommend this place. You 'll love it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner and lunch at Baja Cantina & Grill but it definately was mostly mexican cuisine. Not a very big "grill" selection at all. Our wait for dinner was too long - but for lunch it wasn't too bad. Very cool decor - lots of things to look at. Loved the fireplace and outdoor seating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great kind of hidden gem with a car show every Thursday night in the summer. Lots of racing memorabilia covering the walls. Margaritas are great with a huge selection, and food is equally good. The hot fudge sunday is a must too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating but NOT dog friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Despite the fact that you can search them and find them listed on numerous dog friendly sites, they have a sign on the patio entrance that clearly states that the patio does not allow dogs. So I am not reviewing the food, but their advertising or lack of follow up since they must have been dog friendly at one time and never bothered to take their posting off of those sites.

It seems strange that in an area that caters to travelers with pets and a place that has a big open outdoor patio, they reject all that business.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Cantina & Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Baja Cantina & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Cantina & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.