We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Atmosphere, Get a Patio Seat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Cantina & Grill

Baja Cantina & Grill
7166 Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel, CA 93923-9525
831-625-2252
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Valley Greens Drive
Transit: Monterey-Salinas Transit stops at Valley Hills Center.
Pacific NW
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere, Get a Patio Seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent the weekend in the Carmel Valley and we actually ate at Baja Cantina twice! On the first night, we sat inside (there was a live band outside and it was really loud and we had a toddler with us). The service was so-so because it was super busy on a Friday night, but the food was great and the atmosphere of the old 'service station' was really fun. On the last night of our trip, we went back to Baja Cantina and sat on the patio. It was Sunday night, so there was no band, it was quieter, the food was great again, the service was much better, and the overall patio experience was awesome even with our little toddler. I strongly recommend this joint if you are in the Carmel Valley. BTW - Reservations recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    42
    32
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More Than Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had lunch at the Baja Cantina in Carmel and it was a real treat! The first view you get is the vintage gas pumps in the front of the building and the inside is decorated in automobile memorabilia. This establishment is overflowing with character.
Walking in, you are first greeted by a friendly hostess and found the same with the rest of the staff. We were treated like friends of the family. I noticed that they knew some customers by first name.
So much for that, the food was exceptional and reasonably priced, not to mention very large portions. (My teenage son could not even finish his lunch!)
If you are in the area, this is a must stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Germany, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good feeling - food is good - bar also - prices fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The best part: they have early bird - little snacks with your beer or drink untill 6 p.m. - excellent prices. Regular meals are also good. Music is also nice and overall very pleasant. Crazy interior - and good service. Many golfers from golf course show up - as well as locals - farmers and millionaers - all mixed. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Casual Tex Mex in Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Exhausted from the day's travel, we chose the Baja Cantina because it was casual and didn't require reservations. Food was very good -- pitcher of Margaritas was exactly what we needed. Traditional chips & salsa for starters although I was surprised the waiter had never heard of queso? We enjoyed the meal, atmosphere & waitstaff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing guac!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stopped here twice on a recent trip. The guacamole is fresh and delicious and the menu has great choices. Loved the patio outside making it a perfect spot for happy hour. Service was friendly and prices are reasonable. Give it a try!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Cantina & Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Baja Cantina & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Cantina & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.