We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrogant management /staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria

Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria
3770 The Barnyard, Southwest corner of The Barnyard, Carmel, CA 93923
8316265454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta, Wine Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: ESTABLISHED IN 1988When we opened Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria in the summer of 1988, we did so for selfish reasons. We craved an authentic Italian experience on the Monterey Peninsula.The days of pizzerias with sawdust covered floors on lower Alvarado Street were gone. As the small fishing village known as Monterey slowly disappeared so did its soul.A few small restaurants still had some of that old feeling but they did not have the food our more traveled palates were beginning to expect. Some had, great food and a great feeling, but were too expensive or trendy to be called “local spots”. We needed a place to go to – a little “tucked away” spot to discuss life, enjoy good food, family and friends…. and still be able to pay our bills on time.So in July of 1988 we set out to capture that elusive dream; the soulful pizzeria that exists in every Italian neighborhood. No big deal, just great food, friends and wine. The kind of place that your feet take you to when your mind is not paying attention. And when you get inside, it feels good…like you are home.Allegro is a place where you can satisfy your Italian soul. Simple, healthy, delicious & unpretentious. Welcome to our little part of Italy. We hope you enjoy your stay . Nina & Jeano
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“arrogant management /staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

how unusual : a nice pizza place who thinks they are better than their customers..

food was fine, feel a bit sorry that the food preparers performance is really negatively impacted by snotty staff.

Coming from Chicago, found this place online with TravelAdvisor .

Expensive for what one gets, but most disappointing was the staff attitude... .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good pizza, whatever topping you want”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

price was ok not great. Waiters was very friendly, very casual place, pizza was good and service was fast. By area named the red barn. worth a try.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent pizza. We really enjoyed this place. And having the crayons and paper on the table was a nice touch - we love to color!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, good for kids AND mom and dad, footsteps from Carmel Mission Inn, food-allergy friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We went here because the Japanese place in the same mall was closed. We usually avoid Italian restaurants because 1) we have a GF kid and 2) we've been lucky enough to have eaten some fantastic Italian food In our lives and now we are spoiled and hate eating sub-par Italian food. We ended up here because it was open late on a Sunday night and pretty much nothing else was. Lucky for us as it turned out!

This place is footsteps away from Carmel Mission Inn which meant that both parents could enjoy a well-deserved glass or two of wine because we could walk back to the room. 3 people in our family have food allergies. Of course the allergies are all different which often makes dining out hellish for the kitchen, the server and us. Not so here. This was not a problem for Alejandro our amazing server. He let us know that the meatballs and marinara had pine nuts in them, but the kitchen offered to make a special sausage and plain marinara meatball dish for our daughter so she could have meatballs...and they were yummy! The chef also made a special GF/corn free crust for the little guy, on the spot. (The regular meatballs with pine nuts in sauce are heaven, BTW). The Minestrone soup was homemade and delicious. The cheese and basil in our mozzarella/tomato salad was super fresh! The Sicilian Pizza was tasty too.'

The atmosphere is casual. Adults Without children sat in a quieter area, but this is not a quiet romantic place. They definitely try to seat families near each other which meant that for part of our meal we were surrounded by crying infants. On the plus side, no one cared that our kids spilled a drink. They do give dough to kids to play with as well as crayons. Kids also can make a pizza at the table if they want. For wine lovers: if you buy a $5 tasting flight and decideYao buy a bottle of one of the reasonably-priced wines in the flight, the $5 flight is free.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ate here a couple of time. Nice local family restaurant

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegro Gourmet Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.