We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE venue - you are ensured a beautiful experience here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cultural Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunset Cultural Center
San Carlos Street and Ninth Avenue, Carmel, CA
831 624 3996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Museums, Performances, Cultural
Attraction details
Santa Cruz area CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE venue - you are ensured a beautiful experience here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Of the hundreds of venue's I've patronized - this is IT, hands down. Beautiful surrounding area, lovely gardens and setup, excellent decor, lovely theater with supreme acoustics - every seat is a good view and large enough without feeling like a big "hall." Have now seen the Monterey Symphony here approximately 12 times, and ALWAYS opt to choose this venue to see them in because half the experience is the enjoyment of Sunset Cultural Center itself. The box office is wonderfully efficient and accomodating - have called me back before numerous times to upgrade me when I've had changes to be made to tickets, season tickets, et al - VERY cordial and flexible - made SURE I was satisfied to my every desire. The class and loveliness you expect in Carmel are right here - there is excellent parking, wonderful staff, hospitality and nice concession food at intermission. This is all you could want for an exciting and excellent afternoon as the Sunset TOTALLY enhances the loveliness of the music itsself!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

To find a facility of the Sunset Center's quality in a small town like Carmel is extraordinary. It is immaculately maintained and features artists you'd expect to see in much larger venues. The acoustics are perfect and the sight lines (except the back three rows in the orchestra) are great. It only seats about 700 people so it's always easy to see and hear. One of my favorite venues.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Graham Nash at the Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The sound in this theater is awesome. The perfect size venue where you feel like you are a participant and not just an observer. We check for our favorites often and fly out to see them. It is well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunset Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Art/show center-this was the hub for the film fest--they have concerts and events-done up right--all of these things are what give Carmel its uniqueness

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Accessible, comfortable theatrical venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This 700 seat playhouse is newly renovated with lots of attention paid to acoustics & lighting. The management tries to book interesting & diverse programs. Coming to Sunset allows also a visit to one or more of the 60+ art galleries in town and a treat at one of the 50+ outstanding restaurants several blocks away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cultural Center also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sunset Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.