We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graham Nash at the Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cultural Center

Sunset Cultural Center
San Carlos Street and Ninth Avenue, Carmel, CA
831 624 3996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 97 things to do in Carmel
Attraction details
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Graham Nash at the Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The sound in this theater is awesome. The perfect size venue where you feel like you are a participant and not just an observer. We check for our favorites often and fly out to see them. It is well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunset Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Art/show center-this was the hub for the film fest--they have concerts and events-done up right--all of these things are what give Carmel its uniqueness

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Accessible, comfortable theatrical venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This 700 seat playhouse is newly renovated with lots of attention paid to acoustics & lighting. The management tries to book interesting & diverse programs. Coming to Sunset allows also a visit to one or more of the 60+ art galleries in town and a treat at one of the 50+ outstanding restaurants several blocks away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz area CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL THEATER IN A BEAUTIFUL AREA! CLASS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Saw the entire 2013 Season of the Monterey Symphony here - we LOVED every second of every performance! Comfortable seating with beautiful sound did full justice to the orchestra. Nice concessions too and ample parking. Fair ticket prices and great view from all areas. Always sit in front - have been DELIGHTED! Accomodating with views, preferences, etc. and I will resume ticket purchase soon as I'm ready to go back to enjoy more evenings here! THE BEST!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Was hoping for better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I heard the Monterey Symphony perform a Mahler Symphony there, and the acoustics were just dead. Poor Mahler ... he would not have been happy. I've not heard anything amplified in the hall ... might be better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cultural Center also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sunset Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.